Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:01 p.m. - 2003-11-03
Day time
There's a mouse in the house! How could any self respecting rodent choose to sneak into a home with six cats? Tells you what conditions outside must be like. Although I think I'd choose being frozen over being eaten alive, but that's just me. I did put on my housecoat for the first time in ages - it's usually too warm for indoors but eve with the heat turned up I'm still feeling chilled.

Odd resonance today. At the end of February, just after Saturn went to direct motion, I wrote about receiving a strange call from an RCMP officer. RCMP who was looking for a man by the name of Melvin Stadnyk. He said the man had given him my phone number, that I've had for about 15 years, as his. Well guess what? Today,just as Saturn has turned retrograde, a phone call came in from a city police constable asking for the same man. Apparently he got the phone number from some personal information the police have access to and he was looking for him about a driving infraction. He told me the man's address was about 10 communities south of my home. I checked in the phone book to see if I could find the correct number, but of course it isn't there. I remarked to the officer that I was a bit concerned. With all the discussion about identity theft, the last thing I want to find is that other people like creditors/loan sharks come around my home looking for this guy. Not sure what I'm going to do about it.

I received two interesting e-mails today about movies - both the new Lord of the Rings film due out in December and the next in the series about Harry Potter - The Prisoner of Azkaban. One was preselling tickets for the all day run of all the movies for the Lord of the Ring series. I asked my youngest son if that was something he wanted to do for his birthday. He said yes then laughed and asked if I thought I could manage the marathon. After six babies using my innards as a trampoline, the powder room needs to be visited somewhat more often than between the whole films. The Prisoner of Azkaban isn't supposed to be out until February (I think) if not later, but already the question was being asked if fans were planning to attend the movie in the theaters more than once. Who knows and why the question?

Spent a lot of time reading and responding to posts in the dream workshop. I posted the dream I had about a year ago Dream for my part of the discussion. It's one of about three in the past year that has really rattled me. It is also one that has spun off several dreams since, that I haven't fully interpreted, because there was a block understanding bits from that original one. A "grandmother" dream. The moderator and I discussed theory for a while after she posted back some comments on its interpretation, because she was working basically from Freudian thought, at least I think so, and I've fulminated about that in posts before Freud.

Once we worked out a compromise re:interpretation, she actually did point to something really obvious that I had missed. The gender thing in the workplace. The work I do now is in a male dominated industry and women usually don't do what I do. I love the work I do but I don't get the support, protection, or compensation that a male would nor would I ever receive the recognition that males would. That last part doesn't really matter but I would like to have the respect that is shown them for their efforts. I'm a girl, so of course I don't have the inner fortitude for it. Yet you don't see too many men raising six sons on their own without any outside help while holding down one or two jobs like mine and still finding time(albeit limited) for family and friend when they need it, let alone surviving just short of a hundred hours of labour, but then of course that is meaningless isn't it. It's what women are supposed to do so it doesn't count. Or as that last weird interviewer said - "I meant how much paid work did you do - what percentage of your time was spent in the workforce - when you were an at home mom." Also don't see very many people, male or female spending years volunteering to help people who can't stick up for themselves. What I did often caused a reaction of anger and fear - "if someone else claims their place in the world, then I lose mine" seems to be the rationale. I've done what I've done because I wanted to - it was what was most important to me, but the fact that I'm female shouldn't diminish the accomplishments or the strength it took to do them either. Bitter - not me.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats