Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:32 - 13.11.07
Free Will
I had intended to go out and do a couple of piecework assignments but the storm blowing in, that was threatening a violent change in the weather, made me decide that it made more sense to get indoor tasks done instead. That is one of the other nice things about the piecework - within reason one sets ones own schedule. I did get an email from another qc company telling me I was accepted into their program. Did the orientation and the training - a 24 hour deadline imposed for that - so it was piecework in a sense. I had planned to meet a friend for coffee during my intended travels. When I called her to let her know why I wouldn't be over in her quarter of the city she said she had worked for a qc company out of eastern Canada some time ago. Promised to hunt out the name for me. Maybe I can make a sort of living yet. Hope springs eternal.

Next we got on to discussing her renovations - the noise of the different contractors loud in the background. She was expressing frustration with the process, but I think the fact that she is able to stay home and respond to issues immediately is a major benefit for the projects she has on the go. To me it actually sounded as though things were going much better than most home owner's experiences. A call from a realtor this afternoon wanting to sell my home for me sort of underlined that fact. Both calls included discussions about my attempts just to repair my home let alone renovate it. I've been trying to get that done for at least 18 months now while my friend has been working on her project since mid-summer and will be done by next month. Oh well. I told the realtor that until I could get enough out of the sale of my home to allow me to afford to buy another place, there wasn't any room for discussion. "Well couldn't you rent?" Given that monthly rent rates here are as high if not higher than mortgage payments why would I put myself in such a disadvantageous situation. Given the reported gouging and abuse of a number of local landlords who are taking advantage of the current low vacancy rates I wouldn't even consider it. What happens in ten years when the next boom cycle hits here. At least I know that in my current home the cost for my mortgage won't be going up.

I received a couple of responses from the resumes I sent out on the weekend and am scheduled in to an interview as well this week. That caller contradicted just about everything said to me by the last interviewer last week. Oi. They thought my volunteer work was important and didn't seem as stuck on my physical appearance. Thank goodness - as though I don't have enough reasons to be depressed as is. I am trying to stay positive you see. I did spend more time going through clothes I haven't been able to wear for a while. Weight loss is still happening and I'm slowly shifting in to smaller sizes. Something positive there too. A new look without even going shopping; what a concept. I need shoes though. The other work I did was on an astrology chart. I wouldn't tell my sons about what I saw in their charts until they were adults. I usually won't look at a child's chart, because I don't want to create the conditions for self-fulfilling prophecies. That said this was a unique circumstance and it felt ok. We'll see. Tomorrow is a broom to the floor day which will really frustrate the cats - all their nicely arranged hair tags and scents removed. Poor things. They've been so busy watching the wild animals and birds playing in our trees - now that the leaves are all gone - that I'm surprised they notice anything else at all.

Time for bed now. I dreamt about Carl Jung last night .... Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats