Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

22:19 - 11.11.07
Prophets and seers
Each time I sat down to write the past week there was a feeling that I had to wait until after the dark of the moon, in Scorpio - November 9, after dinner - to do so. Hmmmm. I suppose it could be that was when comet Holmes ejected its tail. The portents would be clearer. You see, there are prophecies from a number of diverse sources including Edgar Cayce and Canadian First Nations shamans about the events evolving in and around what is now called Pakistan. The Tien Shan mountains figure into the mix too. That area and the tectonic activity that has existing land sliding into the sea all combined all comes into play in those prophecies. In those prophecies it is the women and children who finally overcome evil.

It could also have been about my own inner alignment needing work before saying anything else. I do know that I had significant and multiple dreams that were very intense. A dry rock-filled creek bed figured prominently. The sense of finding a way to restore the flow of fresh pure water after an extended drought. Working with like minded others and the fall of tyrants. "Wouldn't it be Loverly" My Fair Lady.

Monday was good. My youngest figured out how to get my VCR picture back working and located the remote that had been missing for months as well. Yay. I got an email from the agency that I do piecework for responding to my report of the day before. I had caught an error in the instructions for the month that would have cost the company both a lot of money and likely the client involved as well as damaging their reputation. I expected to be reprimanded as would have been the case if it had involved the same circumstances in either of the two consulting positions I have held for the past decade. There would have followed commands to hide or bury the evidence with blaming and threats of retaliation as well. The email from this company was astonishingly different. "Thank you for letting us know". "We made a mistake", "We are sorry for the inconvenience and will try to get it fixed as soon as possible." I spent a good part of the day just opening and closing that email simply because I could not believe or absorb what I was seeing. I wasn't going to be punished? Wow.

On Tuesday I received communication from both of the women I interviewed with last week. I had sent in the draft of my revised resume and both really liked it. How cool is that? I updated the work websites where I usually job hunt as a result. Talked with a couple of friends in various industries seeing what advice they had arising from the interviews last week. The make-up issue was reduced to managable size as a couple of people I know who make their living selling that stuff offered advice and support. I even found some of the make-up I actually own - purchased in junior high mind you so colours that would mostly suit an adolescent. Sigh.

Wednesday was a research day. Information that I had promised as a volunteer for certain issues was dredged up and cobbled into usable form for the people needing it. Thursday I revisited the walk to the new train station just to see if I could do it faster than I thought. About 30 minutes which is a bit faster than to the current end of the line station. There was a very strong wind blowing so I got a foretaste of what winter foot travel might demand of one. Bleagh. I did one of my piecework assignments. One of the things that I really like about the work is that I always learn something of value to my own personal situation. This time I learned a great deal. The down side is that I remembered why I avoid retail establishments - you know like malls. When one doesn't have any money to spend, not even for bills, going to a place of conspicuous consumption - the old term for tuberculosis - is incredibly depressing. Add in all the flyers marketing Christmas to the mix too. If I had a job that brought in enough to pay the basic bills it wouldn't bother me so much. Right now I am working on the piecework and I love doing it, but it only earns about one twentieth of what I need monthly to just survive.

Friday I spent sending out resumes trying not to let the blues take over. My one sister had called to ask if I wanted to go to a Christmas bazaar with one of our other sisters as well as go to a job fair. Given that the job fair was advertised as one for replacing workers our age with young adults, I didn't feel the need to lower my morale even more added into going to another place that reminded me how broke I am. At least with sending out resumes I can feel that I am doing the best I can to help myself out of the financial bind - right? The one uplifting moment came when I took a break to read the newspaper. An opinion piece on the editorial page by a man who attened one of those job fairs my sister wanted too attend. He had a masters degree from University of Toronto and was told he wasn't qualified for the positions he wanted. Well yes of course. So even though the employers say they can't find enough workers what they mean is that they won't hire qualified people with the skill sets the job requires if it means they might have to pay them a fair wage. Misery loves company but it helped to know I wasn't the only person finding the same response in interviews. Had to call the cable company yet again. They still hadn't disconnected that unrequested hook-up. I was told that they couldn't do that until there were enough disconnects to warrant sending a service person out to the community. I wouldn't mind letting it stay on - free movies - but I am still afraid I am going to be billed for something I never requested in the first place. The agent promised to send me an invoice that showed that I wasn't being charged. Hope they follow through, extra bills right now just don't help my morale.

Saturday I was able to spend two luxurious hours just sitting chatting with a friend over coffee in a restaurant. Her treat in many more ways than one. We both are finding job hunting difficult so misery loves company again I guess. Talk about family and health as well as reminiscing about childhoods filled the balance of the time. Went and completed another piecework assignment after that filing that report with some concern. Management choices can make work conditions for their employees almost unbearable as well as set them up to fail no matter how hard they try. Spent the evening emailing back and forth with a lot of friends and family - my reward to myself for getting through the week. Today was just a continuation - resumes, research and housework, with a side of yoga thrown in now that the VCR has a picture again. Downward facing dog is still a real challenge where the elbow damaged in the summer is concerned - I have to be very careful how I place those joints and how I move in relation to them. Don't need a dislocation, now do I?

Time for bed now - more qc work tomorrow. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats