Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

05:55 - 15.10.07
Digestion
As I was walking past the television set late the other night, the meteorologist was trying to explain the reason for the very warm temperatures being experienced in eastern Canada and US. La nina, he said - causes warm dry winters in the west as well. That didn't seem correct, since it has always been el nino that generates unseasonably warm winters here in past years. Checked the internet search engines only to find that both manifestations, gender specific, have been the focus of much research but not a lot of conclusions. Theoretical rather than specific. That makes sense in that there are all sorts of other variables that would have to be factored in or out before proof could be offered. Given that the cycles are not regular for either phenomenon nor are the factors that verify that the specific current is actually present agreed upon.

What I can attest to personally, is that the ambient air is considerably drier than usual. One in-migrant from a much more humid part of Canada once was quoted as observing that the climate here was so dry "that even the babies looked old". I don't think she was very happy here at all. The fact is that the body adapts itself in magical ways to the environment it finds oneself in - especially where children are concerned -, but there is also the observation that it takes two generations before one can be considered adapted and part of the local ecosystem and microclimates. My Dad's family has been part of this province for several generations now, so I consider myself fully adapted. Desert-like climate - without the heat - is a good description of the air we breathe here. It becomes drier in winter months. That said, I don't recall the last time I had to start using a good moisturizer for my skin and hair this early in the season. Usually I don't start with that until January. Usually by this time of year the allergy season is a month past too. Today I am still dealing with all the symptoms that indicate pollen and spores normally killed off by the cold are still actively circulating in the local microclimate. It means much warmer days alright - no pantyhose yet, yay! - but a need for a lot of kleenex and similar products just to keep breathing comfortably. Bleagh.

Today was very quiet. Just catching up with essential tasks like litter box duty. Our cats were quite suspicious when we came home with the scent of my sister's two cats on our shoes so reparations had to be made quickly, you see. More a day of rest than anything. The allergies woke me up so I am going back to bed now to finish my sleep. Raking leaves and similar duties take a certain amount of energy, but we must make hay - or at least compost - while the sun still shines. Right?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats