Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:23 - 07.09.07
Rush job
My favorite astologer's newest horoscopes were only a few hours old when the predictions played out in spades. The words "schedule suddenly becoming very busy", "unexpected events" and his last admonition "whatever happens make certain to make extra space for the above, and don't forget to shower".

So my alarm didn't go off this morning and I woke up about the time my bus is usually arriving at the train station. I did shower and made it to the bus stop when I should have been entering the downtown core. I had an early job interview scheduled. I was only 15 minutes late despite being almost 45 minutes behind when I woke up, but being that late for an interview is not very cool at all. I apologized profusely of course. The woman who had set up the appointment had told me that the testing and interview would take a maximum of 3 hours, so I booked an appointment a few blocks away as part of the piece work I've mentioned. Of course the testing went way over the time stated and the interview did too. I still made it to my next appointment on time thanking whichever guardians angels were looking out for me. I had two more assigned jobs to carry on with in my own community so headed off that way by the time the clock struck 11:20 am.

As the train pulled into the station of the shopping complexes where the next two jobs were located heavy dark clouds came rushing up from out of nowhere. Snow had been predicted for the mountains and a bit of rain for the city, but nothing like what blew up between the first visit I made and the second. The temperature dropped 9 C/15 F within a few minutes as the arctic front made itself known. By the time I left the second location where I was assigned to visit I literally had to wrap my arms around a traffic light standard in order not to be blown into on-coming traffic. Cars on very busy roads were even stopping way before I got to a couple of intersections on my way back to the train station because the storm was so fierce. When I reached the main parking area for shoppers it began to hail. I had been cussing myself for forgetting my spring jacket at my son's the day before meaning I was way over dressed in my winter coat in the morning. I had grabbed it as I ran out the door because it was the only other coat I had fit to wear to a job interview. I had also worn my boots because they were the only footwear that suited all the scenarios I would have to visit during those four errands. I changed my tune about that when the hail began. One lady emerging from her car - cane at the ready - joked about my prescience in choosing my outerwear. I laughed and we joked about the typical weather patterns so close to the mountains. Another woman at the station and I traded more jokes as we headed for the platform below to catch the train. Caught the bus that was sitting waiting at my station and that storm was over by the time it pulled in to my community. Uh huh.

Other unexpected requests filled up what had once been a vast expanse of free time in the next three days schedule. Two sons both needing babysitting for my grandbabies in the same period of time. Compromise was that one would go into work on the weekend. Another son needing some quick research done on the internet. My internet crashing up until a few hours ago. Deadlines for filing my reports for the three piece work assignments I did today. Changes in a meeting set up with a friend that now conflicted with time arranged to spend with one of my sisters. And on and on. The multiple telephone calls to try and work everything out and fit it into some kind of managable schedule that met other people's priorities too. My youngest helped out as best he could with the computer but it wasn't a hardware problem - it was both a provider and a web browser problem combined. He helped enormously when he also arrived home early bearing supper. Some positive surprises anyway. As it stands now the next four days are fully booked up with no room for any other additions. My favorite astrologer's predictions were for the entire next week. Oi.

Time for bed now though so I at least have enough energy to face the next few days. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats