Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:20 - 12.08.07
recuperation
The cold, wet morning yesterday started with an almighty racket in front of the house. Three fire trucks - including the big ladder truck - one ambulance and two police cars. The two fire trucks and the ambulance headed down the cul de sac directly in front of my home while the other three vehicles hovered right at the t-intersection. No smoke or flames anywhere, so all those emergency vehicles were backing cautiously out on to my street and then away to whence they came. Puzzling.

My body still hasn't forgiven me for subjecting it to nearly six weeks on three different courses of antibiotics. My kidneys are expecially incensed. Can't say I blame them. During the one week when I was most ill, it felt as though every cell in my body was aflame with the actions of the drug of the moment. I was drinking 8 litres (about two gallons) of milk each day followed by almost as much water, plus juice and tea as well. All that in 30 C/high 80's F weather, thank you very much. I could feel the drugs slowly gaining power over the infection that was raging through my system, so I coped as best I could, but now I'm paying the price. During that period I didn't eat anything at all. My kidneys are demanding as light a workload as possible now, until I have flushed them with enough water to their satisfaction. Otherwise there is a great deal of discomfort. The problem is that during the illness I was too sick to care if I ate, but now I am really hungry. I don't dare put too much in the body despite all that. Today, as a diversion, I was trying to make myself appreciate the opportunity to fit into a size or two smaller clothes - ones I haven't been able to wear for the past few years. Yay. That entertainment lasted for a few hours anyway. Chatted with a couple of my sons about their lives and that was a diversion too. I think I'll try stair climbing and maybe a couple of my easy exercise tapes tomorrow. My arm muscles aren't the only ones that have lost all their firmness. Maybe then the body will be willing to entertain some light dining. We'll see.

I received a response for one of the job applications I submitted last week. The email stated that I hadn't been selected for that particular posting but that my resume was impressive and the company wanted to encourage me to submit applications for other jobs. At this point that is the most encouragement I have received. Every bit of positive feedback at least will keep me going. Last week too one of the placement agencies invited me to join their Facebook network. I'm still thinking on that. There is personal information on my account that I'm not all that certain I want on a worksite space you see.

I'm getting tired again so I think I'll get some sleep now. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats