Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02:18 - 17.04.07
Bare trees
My youngest and I packed the Elections Canada computer up around seven in the am. Why? Well I wanted it sitting right by the front door so that it would be easy to remove when the courier arrived. The packing that was supplied to secure the computer was much less than what was described in the instructions, but we did the best we could to make it as secure as possible. Remember, when I called to book a time I was told the driver had a 12 hour period to make the call to my home and that I would just have to sit and wait for as long as it took. As it turned out, the driver arrived sometime around 11:30 am but we might as well have not bothered trying to make certain the unit would travel well. No one had informed the driver as to the size or contents of the box we were given. His truck was already packed tightly with other packages and he was not amused by what he found. He hadn't bothered to bring a dolly either - or maybe it was stuck in that pile of other stuff. The upshot was that I helped him carry the box out to the van rather than risk him dropping it somewhere between the house and the van. It wasn't all that heavy - just bulky after all. Once we arrived at the van I ran back to close my door so the felines wouldn't take the opportunity to flee. Wasted effort since they were all hiding as though fearful someone might come in and drive them out of the house. When I returned to the van to help the driver lift the box on board, I found him kicking some of the other boxes into a tighter configuration so as to ensure he could fit this box in too. I have a feeling that regardless of the care we took to pack the computer, it won't make it to Ottawa in one piece. Not if what I saw is any indication of the type of care given to "fragile" freight. Not much I can do about it. As long as I don't get yelled at for what arrives.

I was still having a lot of trouble breathing today and that frustrated me quite a bit. I had hoped to work outside on the yard, but along with what might have been a bit of food poisoning from yesterday's dinner I just didn't have enough get up and go to get out in the sunny weather. A couple of really nice days with temperatures in the high 60's F/20 C. One or two more to go before we get back in to drizzly conditions.

My friend working overseas wrote back with more information about the technical arrangements for observing the election they are responsible for. She commented on the story about the other person I have been talking about who seems to be trying to either hit on me himself or match-make for a friend. She had the same read on the behaviour as I had and added that one of her friends - a decade older than me - was commenting that she is still being hit on by males. My friend says the lady is quite attractive, but noted quite drily that most of the males' first question was - did she own a house. That was sort of at the back of my mind when my own little drama played out a week ago. It was similar to the males - older and much younger - hitting on me at work the past couple of years. They all seem to want to find a mommy with extra privileges. The older males also seem to be of the opinion that divorced women are free for the taking whether they themselves are married or not. I feel sorry for their wives. At one point last week I almost quipped - "chocolate, cigarettes, Sailor Boy" - but decided to give the person the benefit of the doubt. However my gut reaction was strong enough to make me very cranky indeed, but of course ladies don't say what they think - directly. It is fortunate he didn't press me further on the issue. My friend overseas suggested that I force the issue by requesting a bio and photo of the friend he was saying he had who was looking for a new relationship. The problem is is that would imply my interest in a relationship. I don't have any such desire. I figure if the almighty has plans of that nature he can have the blighter shipped to me parcel post - name and address clearly marked. Works with computers. In short if something is meant to be, it will have to come in a manner I can accept as inevitable. Even then I just don't know. I like my freedom - creative urges now include time to write mostly. The lady cited in that last article has been one of my role models for a long time - aim high and for the best. One never knows where it might lead. That one person you help might someday do something that changes the world forever for the good. One can hope. Good enough for this girl.

My youngest had the day off and he had promised me he would do some chores around the house. That meant the times I was conscious were spent helping him organize and execute the most important tasks on my list. Funny thing is the more empty the house becomes, as we clear things out, the more crowded I feel. I can't reconcile the feelings. It might just be my impatience to get everything removed and the fact that I have to move more slowly than I'd like because of my lungs and the asthma. Oh well. At some point instead of taking apart things, we will begin to put things together again. Worked for Humpty Dumpty didn't it? My other accomplishment for the day was putting my sister's resume together and corresponding with various friends. Nothing tangible, but some day that will bear fruit too - right? A job offer would be nice too. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats