Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:02 - 16.04.07
Family Ties
Last night I was having so much trouble with the asthma that I finally resorted to desperate measures. I had a bowl of wonton soup for supper after my youngest and I returned from our grocery shopping. I added a significant amount of Thai Sweet Chili Sauce to it. My breathing improved immediately. I paid for that this morning though, my stomach was none too impressed I guess. I had cooked the sweet potatoes that was my responsibility to contribute to the family buffet scheduled for today over-night, but the final preparation meant I had to be out of bed and working by 9 in the am to be ready on time. My stomach, on the other hand, felt that maybe noon would be the time it would stop punishing me for my sins the evening before. I managed to get the misery under control by downing a container of yoghurt, but it was not a pleasant morning - oh no. The medicine in the inhaler causes me to have the shakes - apparently it must have some effect on the central nervous system. So on top of a sore tummy, maybe that was to stop me from eating too much in the afternoon, I also had to be careful all day not to hold anything too heavy since my hands shook when I tried.

My brother arrived around noon to pick us up. I had just finished creating the Easter baskets for my two youngest grandchildren as he pulled up. He handed me the hedge clippers for tomorrow's great adventure - our family shares my Dad's clippers you see - and then their car was packed up with my bundles. There was even enough room for my youngest and I to fit in after all that. The sky was a bit odd. It was forecast to be a fairly warm spring day but the clouds on the horizon spoke of rain. It was a pretty sight even so as long as one enjoys the deeper shades of blue and grey. Talk was mostly about my brother's travelling for business. Traffic was light because of the hockey game final for our team - they lost in the end.

The afternoon was pleasant and passed quickly. I spent most of my time playing with my grandbabies. I had just been coming to terms with not seeing my granddaughter every week day. She wanted me to hold her for a good part of the day and I enjoyed that. It just reminded me how much I miss her though. She also enjoyed crawling around chasing over my sister's dog Sophie as well as trying to share her food - the dog food that is. She heard the neighbour's dogs barking and managed a pretty good imitation of that. My one nephew had a deadline for his college project so was upstairs most of the time working on it - a really well thought out design for a home. I asked if he would build one of those for me. My one niece's boyfriend attended a family gathering for the first time and handled himself well. My number four son picked up my grandson at one point - he was sitting beside the pair - gently shook the baby in front of their eyes and said "this is what happens if you're not careful". They both took the comment very well, all things considered. I spent some time chatting with my brother-in-law's - the host - widowed Mom. She seems to be coping well, mostly by keeping busy it seems. She was detailing her travels to me. Touching base with the rest of the adult family members kept me busy the rest of the time. Plans for future time together was part of that. Headed for home around the supper hour and that's the kind of day it was dear diary. Good night.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats