Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

17:18 - 24.02.07
Terrorism
A belated happy birthday to Alan Rickman.

Ms Snowy woke me up much earlier on Thursday morning than I wanted. She was using her very intimidating talons to spear the head of one of my Teddy Bears in the collection that is on my bed. She bopped me on the head several times with her poor defenseless victim, until I awoke enough to realise that she intended to continue on until I got out of bed. It was that glimpse of those exquisitely honed claws that got me moving. I decided that I'd use the extra time to post to you as well as cover off some cleaning duties. Made certain that all the cat related chores were done too. Good thing I guess.

I had signed up for a web seminar during what is normally my grand-daughter's nap time. I had to email the presenters explaining that my son's computer - an old beast - didn't have the capacity to logon to the website anyway even after I had tried it several times. My grand-daughter was really fussy during the day as it turned out, so just as well I guess. It was obvious she wasn't feeling well, but hard to determine what was wrong. All she wanted was to cuddle. Fine by me, poor little poppet.

Arrived home to find a letter from Elections Canada...."This is to inform you your last official day of tenure was February 10." Whatever. The letter was signed on February 16 and likely was one of the last functions by the old CEO. What irritated me was the note about the return of material. I'll be more than pleased to clear out the third of my home that is filled with their material but it will be my timing not theirs that dictates that. After a decade of building my life around their schedule they can now wait on mine. When I arrived home that evening I did send out an email to all my office staff who I have addresses for letting them know and thanking them for their hard work and dedication over that decade. Those who aren't hooked up on the net I will need to phone or write next week I suppose. I'll deal with that later.

I awoke on Friday morning dreaming I was the owner and lead choreographer of a dance studio. The young women were all exquisitely beautiful, but each was also different in both their presentation of themselves and the talent they displayed. What an exciting job to have. I also have vague recollections of being in a work situation where I was always required to work on a high wire of sorts. The risks were challenging and the stakes seemed to be constantly raised somehow. The people in charge kept benefitting from the work I was doing, with no concern for my safety and no reciprocal support for the tasks I and my co-workers were trying to complete. It seemed as though those tables were about to be turned on them, but the alarm clock intervened at about that moment.

The Friday morning connector bus wasn't at my stop when I arrived. The past week there have been two for that same route sitting there waiting when I arrived. I'm not certain why but it was a bit strange. Maybe both drivers felt on Friday that the other would cover for them. Don't know. Arrived a bit late at my son's home as a result, but he was ok with that. My grand-daughter was in the same condition as the day before and I am a bit worried about her. I've mentioned before that I don't think very young children should be warehoused in daycares and I feel really guilty that I can't continue on caring for her. The problem is that I also have to pay my own bills and I've already fallen way behind. I just can't put myself at any greater financial risk right now.

That seemed to be a bit of a theme during the day. One of the people I work with in the downtown industry and who does the same type of auditing but with different areas of expertise, and I touched base while my grand-daughter napped. We were comparing notes about our work, since it has been closely entwined for a couple of years even though we weren't necessarily working in the same companies. Same properties and past practices though. There has been a lot of press lately about potential terrorist attacks, but quite honestly the environmental damage and the state of repair of some of the industrial sites we deal with in the Western provinces are a greater danger to local populations than anything a terrorist organization from another country could devise. As Pogo says "We have met the enemy and he is us." Some of what we've uncovered the past while has provoked some fairly strong responses to our presence on site, as you know by my posts about a year and a half ago, dear diary. In my co-worker's case it means right now they've been black-balled by someone who has a lot to hide and a lot of clout in the industry too. Economic retaliation that is just as devastating as a physical attack, without the evidence to prove it.

We went on to discuss my experience with Elections Canada lately and it was their observation that often when bringing in a new leader, or when a restructuring is done in industry or government, anyone who has a long historical knowledge of the old entity, who has acted as a leader within the organization, who thinks for themselves or who has asked uncomfortable questions in the past is removed/purged, so that there is only the one new leader left to "rally around". Sounds more like a dictatorship running scared, if you ask me. That said, I know that as an Aquarian I am constitutionally incapable of becoming or acting like a lemming. As you may have noticed dear diary my sense of self-preservation has sometimes been over-ridden by that idea of doing the right thing. To me the spirit is eternal and needs to be honoured first. As for the material "this too shall pass" - all of it.

Next up I called my youngest to check how his experience of the jury selection process had gone. He said he had arrived downtown only to be told the call had been cancelled. His name goes back into the the draw system but there is no rescheduling of that particular group of people. Off the hook or lost opportunity to learn about the real conditions in the justice system - take your pick. As a result he just turned back around and headed off to work. That pleased his employers greatly apparently since they were very short staffed.

Anyway it's well past dinner time now so I think I'll check in with said youngest son to see what he wants to do about nourishing the body if not the soul. I'll continue on with tales from the worlds within and without later.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats