Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

05:26 - 22.02.07
Travel
Another night of fevered dreams from the virus my son brought back from his travels. Tuesday evening when number two son was driving me home we almost became the focus of a road rage incident. Along the freeway about halfway between our homes my son was driving the speed limit - the maximum allowable speed y'all - in the fast lane. Still a few icy patches here and there. An older car - looked rebuilt and repainted a slightly lighter shade of cobalt blue - pulled right up to his bumper. The driver kept trying to force my son to go faster. When a little gap happened my son slowed by 5 km per hour to try and persuade the other driver to pass. That driver just became more aggressive. My son slowed another five km after that and the driver finally roared past on the lane next to us flipping the bird as he went by. Two caucasian teenage or young adult males they were. It sounds like something minor, but even for those few minutes someone trying to ride up the tailpipe of one's vehicle, riding the bumper at that speed was pretty unnerving. The other driver swerved at top speed across five lanes of traffic, swerved back two lanes in to traffic then swerved back to the far lane and tried to force the drivers on the off ramp to the highway - a very steep curving flyover - to move faster as he tried to exit in his turn. Drivers like that are likely bullies in other aspects of their lives I think.

When I had stepped up to disembark from the connector bus on Tuesday something made me glance back into the body of the bus just as it was pulling up to my stop. Lucky thing I did since there was my wallet sitting on the seat I had just left. Several other passengers were looking at it but none had said a word in that time. The driver waited for me to go grab it thankfully. This morning the same driver was pulling out from the downtow stop as I came chuntering along fresh off the train. He pulled back into the curb to let me board saying he recognized me as one of his customers. Not surprising given the episode the day before but it was still a bit of a feat to see me clearly in the morning twilight and very kind of him too.

The day with my granddaughter was fun. She wanted to cuddle a lot. At one point I was eating a banana I had brought from home for a snack. My son had said it was ok to share it with her so I broke a few tiny pieces off for her and put them in her cup. She looked from them to the larger piece I was biting. Hesitated then grabbed the piece I had and started chewing on it. She dumped her cup over as though telling me she didn't need to be babied thank you very much. Uh huh. When I put her down for her nap she was very tired. A little later I heard her whimpering through the nursery monitor. She was having a bad dream so I stroked her hair until she settled but did not waken. Hard to know what was botheing her since she can't really tell me anything. Maybe she was reliving the part in the Harry Potter story we are now reading - the Order of the Phoenix - where Harry and Ron are interpreting each other's dreams while Professor Umbridge is auditing Professor Trelawny's teaching abilities. Don't know.

Time to get ready for the morning commute now. Talk with you later dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats