Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

23:51 - 25.02.07
opposition or complementarity
The second of three exact astrological oppositions between Saturn and Neptune occurs this Wednesday February 28. The first was on August 31 last year and the final one will be on June 25 2007. This alignment is a once in, approximately, 35 year phenomenon and is deemed to portend the toppling of governments and the revelation of secrets on the global scene. The astrological signs of this opposition are Aquarius/Leo. In each person's natal chart it is about the need for balancing dreams against reality in the sectors where those astrological signs fall.

Out of curiosity I decided to check out the US and Canada's news stories for the last alignments in the astrological signs of Gemini/Sagittarius. 1971 to 1972. It began with the publication of the Pentagon papers - the US Supreme court ruling that refused to let the US government of the day hide the information contained in those 4000+ pages about the real government action carried out in Vietnam and ended with the beginning of the Watergate scandal. Hmmm.

In Canada there was less drama, but that was when the government of PE Trudeau established the first department of the environment - to work on cleaning up the Great Lakes and the reduction of mercury in the environment while establishing protections for whales, seals and cod fish. That government also began the work of repatriating the BNA Act, which was the founding document for the establishment of Canada as a nation within the British Commonwealth, so that Canada became a political entity in it's own right separate from the Empire. M Trudeau also initiated international relationships with China and Russia, which caused mutterings about the Prime Minister's political beliefs - "communist". The muttering ended when Canada's national hockey team beat the Russian hockey dream team - as part of the initial cultural exchange, you see - in what has been deemed the greatest hockey coup of the 20th century. At least by Canadians. By the end of that period there was a minority government in Canada with 109 seats in the House of Commons for M Trudeau's party and 107 for the opposition party led by Mr Stanfield.

During that last astrological alignment, when Russian Premier Leonid Breznev was asked by a US newspaper how many ballistic missiles were aimed at one of Canada's major cities - Toronto - he responded "None, I have no problem with the Indians". Yes well. There was significant terrorist activity being addressed within our country as the trials of the members of the FLQ - the terrorist cells formed in the province of Quebec that had been involved in several bombings and the murder of a government official in order to promote independence for that province - were underway, reshaping Canadian jurisprudence both with respect to our War Measures Act and the codification of human rights legislation. There was even an attempt to bomb the Rolling Stones concert in Montreal for crying out loud. There were hijackings - both over Saskatchewan, for heaven's sake, and to Cuba. Several longstanding provincial governments were unceremoniously turfed in favour of new political movements. It was also a period of great unrest in Canada's media (Gemini)and transportation (Sagittarius) industries. Strikes and labour violence were significant and spawned major changes in both industries. What was most fascinating was a correlation for both countries between the revelation of secrets at the opposition of Saturn/Neptune that had begun or been escalated during the square of those two astral bodies seven or so years previous.

Personally that was a good period of time for me. I switched from one level of schooling that I loathed, to one that I loved. I began my personal studies of complementary medicine, spirituality beyond the confines of institutionalized religions, and astrology - now all avocations or hobbies that have since provided the foundation of the beliefs and values that allowed me to act and to cope through the conditions that have been constant in my adult life to date. I had separated myself from the groups of people that had been part of my social life until then because they had become toxic to my personal growth. Instead I focused instead on developing physical skills in gymnastics and swimming, both of which also served as significant protection for physical trials that would arise later.

That all came about through the promptings of my intuition. It wasn't until I started to ignore those promptings a year later that things started going astray - like getting married, y'all - in my adult life. I should have stuck with my original plan to get my degree, travel to third world countries to apply those skills and then come home to start a family. Granted I would not give up my sons to go back and change those decisions. Guess I'd better try to carry those lessons, good and bad, forward, eh? I'm not certain how that will play out now though. During the first exact alignment on August 31 2006 I was visiting the museum with the one friend and had that epiphany about Egyptian mythology and the Harry Potter series as well as talking with that friend about her dream trip to Egypt so that I could start planning for mine. Hmmm well. At that time I was assessing my vocational and social commitments/alliances too. What stays and what goes. Where was I willing to compromise and where was I needing to prune. I was listening to that inner voice so I'm hoping the outcomes will be as positive as the ones from the last alignments over 30 years ago.

On Friday night when my son drove me home we noticed the police barricading part of the one freeway. Several marked and unmarked cars lining the route. My son speculated that a car chase was likely the reason. I was looking for the spike belts because that is one road where there is no place for other motorists to safely pull off should a crazed driver decide to come through. No belts so I guess it was a preventative measure. That generated a discussion about some of the unreported police activity in the whole of the city the past few months. My son mentioned the return trip to his home that one night when he drove me to my home much later than usual because my daughter-in-law worked late. Valentines Day. He said that there were police vehicles in huge numbers strung from my quarter of the city to his and it made him very uncomfortable. What was going on? I reminded him that is when the one story about threats of attacks on oil and gas properties had been reported. But the truth is that I and my oldest son have also seen a number of large scale police sweeps of some description on our travels early in the morning and very late at night as work schedules require our presence on transit corridors. Each time there has been no reporting about the reason or even the activity in any media source that we listen to. Just odd.

Today, when my eldest son arrived for a visit with his two children, he was on his cell phone to the police as they walked in the door. They had just witnessed a joy-riding teen smash into a parked vehicle right next to where they were walking after getting off at the bus stop closest to my home. Not only that but the young offender had circled back to get a better look at his handiwork driving in such a way that he could have seriously injured my son and his children as he drove past them. Second personal experience with road rage type behaviour in the past week. He and his son dealt with the stres by challenging my youngest to a light sabre duel (Star Wars, y'all) outside in the backyard. Lucky my youngest has three light sabres after all, eh? Too bad I don't have a camcorder or I could have uploaded up my own contribution to Youtube. My grand-daughter dealt with her stress by borrowing my felts and art paper to produce numerous drawings. I made tacos and salad for the family followed by baking a blueberry pie - my sons not all that fond of cherry pie you see. "Oh where have you been Billy boy, Billy boy. Oh where have you been charming Billy. I've been to see my wife, she's the joy of my life. She's a young thing and cannot leave her mother. Can she bake a cherry pie ...." I told you that there is audio streaming going on in my head did I not? I didn't claim it was all high brow or low brow for that matter.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats