Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:26 - 12.02.07
-
It took me until 5 in the am last night to defrost the one open window in the bedroom so that I could safely shut it. As I did so the temperature was dropping rapidly to double digits below freezing C/below 0 F. Brrrrrr. Not safe to leave it until Mother Nature gets around to warming up either. A chinook is forecast for late Wednesday, but what if the next power outage includes this community. The rule of thumb is that a powerless home will maintain the internal temperature for four hours, but do I really want to test out that theory? As a result of that open window, my home had already lost a lot of internal heat and so had my body. Took all the heaters combined and a stint wrapped up in blankets before I felt warm again. I kept flashing back to the scene in "Cool Runnings" where the Jamaican bobsled team for the 1988 Winter Olympics practiced coping with the cold in Canada by sitting inside a freezer compartment. It was funny in the movie, especially the way John Candy played it up, but in real life not so much so.

Found out today that my youngest son's credit card was one of the ones affected by that security breach at the local bank. He's supposed to be travelling this month, remember, and calculated his budget to include access to that card. Like all the other people affected by the problem he can't get any answers from the bank about alternative access to funds, because they aren't answering their phones or posting information on their website. He can see his balance but nothing else. I suppose he can try to claim for any material loss he incurs, but how does one replace the experiences of a vacation lost if he can't use his credit card? Will the bank pay for replacement of his vacation, including reimbursing his employer for the holiday pay they have set aside for him. Given that this is the first real travel my son has ever done, he is rather frustrated to say the least. Classic Mercury retrograde in all it's glory. I'd warned him about that and the placement of a couple of other aspects in his personal birth chart, but I don't have the heart to say I told you so. I'd rather see the bank have it cleared up completely by tomorrow.

Most of my day was spent cleaning, clearing away another layer of clutter, and doing laundry. Shoveled the snow off the walk after sunset when I was certain no mor was going to fall. Leggings, stirrup pants, socks and two sweat shirts over a t-shirt under my coat, gloves, scarf, head band and boots. Layered so that I was almost sweating by the time I finished, even though I was shivering when I started. The one neighbour who always parks right in front of my walkway drove up as I was working. They sat idling their car a few houses away until I finished. Parked in their usual place after I had gone inside. Uh huh.

The rest of the day was spent reading up on the news. Best clip was from one of the Harry Potter fan sites. According to one of the actors who is part of the "Order of the Phoenix" film he was chatting with JK Rowling on the set and asked her why she was present. She said she needed a break from writing book seven "because she was having a lot of trouble with Dumbledore's character". In book six it was made to appear as though Dumbledore had been murdered by Professor Snape. I told my youngest when we read that that with a familiar of a phoenix it wasn't likely that Dumbledore would stay dead. Maybe he does just communicate through his death portrait, but I suspect there are other factors brought in to play that allow him to step back through the veil. We'll see. A lot I want to comment on but not tonight. Got to catch that early bus tomorrow after all. I hope Mr Mercury doesn't mess with that too. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats