Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02:04 - 13.02.07
Workable
I shouldn't have invoked Mr Mercury or the upcoming eclipse last post, should I dear diary. Not only did my son find his ability to communicate with the bank still blocked today, but I missed my first bus this morning. Although there is only a 15 minute wait for the next one, it took an additional half hour to reach my son's house. That is because the each missed connection adds about 15 minutes more to the misery. Two connections equals half an hour. Traffic was so bad today, that city officials noted that they had more complaints from drivers about the state of the roads than in all their years of dealing with winter conditions. That is really odd given that this isn't really all that serious a cold snap. No blinding, drifting snow or arctic like temperatures. Nearly a hundred injury accidents and over 200 non-injury ones as well though. Part of that can be attributed to bad drivers. My son and I witnessed one chain reaction fender bender involving three cars on the way home tonight. One vehicle slowed to take an icy corner. The two cars behind that driver were turning too and speeded up to turn on that same corner while following too close to begin with. Just sheer carelessness - or maybe inexperience. On the other hand there were places on main roads where the snow plows and sanders just didn't seem to be able to keep clear. As we were driving home at around 8 pm the traffic was still as heavy as at a regular rush hour even though those usually taper off around 6 pm. Guess drivers finally got the message to slow down, eh?

My sidewalk, that I had shovelled the night before, was covered again this morning but snow was still falling as I left the house and continued past the time I arrived back here tonight. Even though it needs clearing again, it doesn't make sense to do it until the snowfall ends - sometime tomorrow. It would be like trying to empty the beach of sand with a teacup as the tide comes in. Fortunately it is the light dry snow that isn't too hard to shovel.

My grand-daughter's schedule was all wonky again today. When I first arrived she seemed a bit zoned out, but not tired. Just lethargic compared to her normal self. Once I'd fed her pablum though the opposite reaction, so that she was zipping about like the energizer bunny. No morning nap. I looked up at one point as I was reading the latest Harry Potter book to her - the third task in the "Goblet of Fire" - to see her trying to plug in the treadmill. Those electrical outlets were too high for her to reach last week and she had given no indication that she understood the connection - pun intended - between the outlet and the operation of that machine. Guess she thought I should be exercising rather than reading. Oi. Dropped the book and zipped over to retrieve that item from her busy little self. I secured that cord, but she kept trying to reach it all the same for most of the day. She did go down for her nap finally just after lunch and woke again 3 hours later full of energy again. I spent the time she slept checking my email and trying to help my youngest with is financial issue. Bleagh.

The most interesting e-article today was the one about working in an open concept office. You know, no walls at all just workstations. There were quotes from some workers complaining about the noise and distractions like constant movement of their workmates, making it impossible for them to concentrate. At the same time we still cram children - and their teachers - into tiny classrooms where they have no space at all and aren't allowed any of the suggested remedies - such as using a discman with earphones. Yet we criticize those children and blame the teachers when they can't seem to settle to their work. Maybe adults should use the experience to rethink how we warehouse our children in daycares and schools. The fact that so many children do well despite the disadvantages is a tribute to both the teachers and their charges. Grow up, eh? Either that or remember that what applies to one applies to all. Lobby for more appropriate situations for the up-coming generation and remember the warning about one's children choosing one's nursing home. Think you are warehoused now, office workers of the world?

Anyway time for bed so I can fully appreciate my current "work" conditions. Wish I could continue them until my granddaughter is old enough to choose my nursing home. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats