Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02:31 - 13.10.06
walking blues
I've spent the last few hours wearing my light snow boots - the ones for ankle deep or less accumulations. You see before the cats were neutered, they liked to mark their favorite toys with their own special scent. Apparently those boots must have been especially favoured, because they really smelled - of that unique odor. I washed the boots, but didn't have time to restretch them while they were still wet. So for the past year they've been in a corner waiting for a time when I could devote the effort necessary to reintroduce them to my wardrobe. That was today.

It isn't that there is snow on the ground - not that kind of imperative where no option is left either. You see the other day when my sister's sister-in-law and I went walkig along the river path to the restaurant, I had a hard time keeping up with her. She walks very quickly at the best of times but the problem was that my feet just wouldn't work properly in the runners I was wearing. Even though I bought them on sale just this past spring they are now too loose to hold to my feet. I wasn't fully convinced that was the case until today when my youngest and I went out walking around the supper hour. The intent was to run some errands and also get some exercise before it really does get cold and miserable outside. We were out walking for three hours. By the time we got home there was no doubt that those runners are now too big. I've been aware from the fit of my clothes that I have lost more weight but i didn't realize that it was enough that my feet were also getting smaller. Hooray for me, but it does mean I needed to find something other than my sandals that I can wear comfortably so that I can walk without tripping or hurting myself because of a bad fit. By the time I got home tonight my one knee and the hip I tore all the muscles in when I fell about three years ago were very sore and starting to swell. I guess I was compensating for my feet slipping around in those runners by holding the upper leg in a weird way. Progress eh?

I spent about four hours today writing up the next segment of my pre election assignment. It was due in today but I hadn't done that part of it because I was waiting for answers from both the local rep and the one team in Ottawa about requests and questions I had that needed to be answered before I could proceed. No one had gotten back to me until tonight at around 10 pm. All it was was an email from the local rep saying she hadn't been able to get any answers and scolding me for trying other avenues of inquiry after talking with her. I had sent my requests mid and late September so I felt no qualms about pursuing another source of information. I am penalized - even moreso - with respect to payment of my fees if I am deemed to be submitting my work after their arbitrary deadline for completion. Arbitrary because if they don't provide all the necessary information and tools it is pretty hard for me to deliver the finished product. As it is I've only been able to send in incomplete information because I still don't have everything I need. Bah humbug. I have recruited the workers I need but I can't proceed with their training until that information arrives either. Just another frustration. The walk helped relieve some of the stress. That part was good for me anyway, but it still won't pay the bills will it.

Anyway I'm tired and I have tentative meetings set up for tomorrow so I guess I'd better get some sleep. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats