Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:10 - 14.10.06
Positive Thinking
My tech and I have been trying to find a time to meet now that he is back from training in Ottawa. He estimates it will require an hour. So far it looks as though the best we can do is next week. The only real concern I have is that he has to submit his expense claim. You know how that works don't you dear diary. I want him paid before Christmas. Got confirmation from the one other new staff member that they sill meet me and their team members next week. That's a good thing.

Next up was a call from the one person at headquarters I had left messages for a couple of days ago. I couldn't proceed with the training meeting mentioned above until I had run several issues past him. Protest votes, language barriers, the homeless population in my area. Those touchy issues that arose on voting day last event. I don't want another time where a school goes into lock down because of voter and political party behaviour combined. I have to have a meeting with the political parties soon and have been mulling over how to approach setting much stronger boundaries around the disruptive acting out that all three of the front running parties engaged in. Personally I prefer to be blunt so that there are no loopholes. That comes from parenting six sons and their buddies. "But you didn't say that we couldn't do ...! You just said not to ..." Spell it out right down to the punctuation works best. However, given that this is politics it was clear that to strong a stand would not be supported by headquarters. Walk that tight rope in a week or two I guess.

In the news lots of uplifting, odd, entertaining, or enlightening stories the past week. Good topic for a Friday 13th don't you think? Counting our blessings and using our heads for a change. Lost in the barrens our border. It is a sign of great trust and friendship I think that each country has lost track of the dividing line. Too bad we can't find our way back into that trust once more. This American organization calling our parliament to account was interesting. The courts doing the same for provincial governments too. A lot of really positive breakthroughs or changes in attitude with respect to both health and environmental issues. One of the benefits of a diverse society, such as we have now, is that many different perspectives brought to bear on previously intractible problems or beliefs can bring about startling resolution in the blink of an eye. "Try to See it My Way".

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats