Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:44 - 16.09.06
Grey Eyes
Instead of fire on the mountain being in the news today, it was snow. Snow and ice. I was talking with one of my staff when they exclaimed that snow was falling outside their home. Not that far from me.

Also in the news these two reports about Darfur and Iran from another point of view gave me pause. Very little of any story is a black and white proposition, but all those shades of grey can make things very confusing. More research required since I much prefer doing my own thinking for myself. "Truth is a legal defence" and so it is and should be, but what is the truth? That question is especially important for all adults as stories such as this emerge in what is supposed to be a democratic country. Hopefully it was only that one publisher who acted against his community's best interests.

There is also the question of appropriate news content. Ther has been speculation lately about a "spark" between one of our Members of Parliament of the masculine persuasion and a female member of the US government. Sometimes in language that shouldn't be heard outside a middle school playground. There is enough grist for the newsmill with respect to issues and policy-making efforts of the day that showing this degree of disrespect for public figures' privacy is not necessary and even inhibits the responsible inspection of the news of the day. Show disrespect for bad choices based on half truths that the spin doctors toss out for public consumption. Dig in the deepest corners of the real story instead of wallowing in yellow journalism and purple prose. Leave that to the "alien baby" pictures publications.

More calls and correspondence with people I hope to have working with me next election. My tech is off to Ottawa soon for his training. That was just confirmed today. I am starting to think about and connect people together as teams so that they can negotiate with more time to smooth over any differences in style - I hope. This article from Toronto explains some more what about why our elector lists require so much work before we can feel they are accurate. Then there are the attempts at padding the lists or stuffing the ballot boxes. I am getting people who I want in the office to agree to take on the positions that still are empty, but I think that I will have to advise head office that I will likely lose most of them once the wage issue arises.

I took a couple of breaks to listen to number four son's woes. His cell phone was damaged while he was working - in May. He filed an insurance claim - in May. Then he filed another one during the summer when the agency claimed they hadn't received the faxes that several people at the store where it was purchased did witness as completed transmissions. Now it's autumn and the same story is being tossed out as a reason for not replacing the unit. This is the son with a baby due in a few weeks. He wants to use his cell phone to take pictures of his newborn. It isn't as though he can tell his wife to stop the labour and delivery sequence so he can fight with the insurance company once again. The store that sold him the original unit gave him a replacement today and said they would take responsibility for pursuing a legal remedy with the company. Personally maybe losing their licence to sell their insurance in this country would be a good choice.

Anyway time for bed. Tomorrow means working on the demographics of the electoral district - just for a change of pace.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats