Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:04 - 17.09.06
upgrades
Sorry about yesterday dear diary. Number three son arrived to help me install that new MS product on my PC. As you might have guessed, it took a lot longer than expected. First came the running around on errands. Because it was the Saturday after payday it meant that there were line ups where ever one went. At the bank an entire family was having a debate about how to deposit their money into one account at the ATM took a very long time. People watching is always interesting in that setting, so the time spent waiting was put to good use. At least this time I remembered to scrub the scent of bleach away before leaving the house. I was raised to clean like my Mom and Grandmother of course. They told tales of the depression when families ended up in the morgue together if not enough bleach was used, don't you know. That never explained how penicillin was found growing on mouldy old cheese, but one never sassed back an elder when I was growing up. Smelling like bleach does give one more space in lines I've found. Most people don't go in for chlorine eau de toilette. Yesterday I didn't mind people standing up close and personal, because it was very wet and windy. Warming up inside the bank was very pleasant.

Next up was visiting Purolator to pick up a piece of software needed for the install. Not for the program itself, but for the tweaking that needed to occur before and after. Apparently Dell had a big sale on their products, because it seemed everyone else was there to pick up their new toys. Multiple boxes each having to be sorted out for each bill of lading for each individual customer. In that facility there was no space left for a line up. It also meant each person had to fight their way past the line up to get their order out to their vehicle. Each time the automatic doors opened we all got a blast of the wind - blowing at about 70 km/hour by then - and laden with cold icy rain. Stopped at the burger joint of my son's choice next. He and my youngest wanted the regular combos, but I got the chicken salad. Took me all day to eat it too. Just not hungry these days. Of course another long line even through the drive through, as everyone else decided to fuel up during their day's errands.

Back to the community with more supplies necessary to be picked up at the local drug store. Home again and over six hours of tweaking, after two hours of travelling. Everything went smoothly. It was just that the amount of data I have on my system took forever to backup before moving ahead with the install. Oh well. I guess it is worth the effort in the end, isn't it dear diary. After number three son had left I recustomized the settings. I don't know why, but MS seems to think their customers are blind. The fonts were huge. Gave me a headache until I adjusted that down to a reasonable size. Changed the colour scheme - I love purple - and then got round to checking my email. A lot to read after a day of not opening everything that arrived.

Crawled into bed thinking to take a short nap before posting to you, when the usual weekend brouhaha started on the other half of the duplex. First came the sound of bottle and cans rattling under a balcony. Couldn't tell where it was coming from exactly at first. We store ours in the basement until we can get them to recycle, but I wondered if my youngest had left some outside when he was clearing out his room last weekend. The fussing went on for about 20 minutes with the banging and clanging then I heard the one couple who live there come outside to retrieve "Jeff" from his temper tantrum. Don't know what that was all about, but sleep eluded me for some time after wondering if it was going to be one of those all night melodramas. As a result, dear diary, I didn't wake up until a few hours ago. Needed a couple of more hours to do updates and such so I'm just getting to you now. It is coming up on lunchtime though so I think that's all she wrote for now.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats