Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02:38 - 15.03.06
shakin all over
Actually it's the cat litter that has been causing the headaches. Checked the bag - Scented. I normally don't buy anything scented for that very reason, but I recalled one day during the election, where there was no litter to be found anywhere in any store. Really odd that was. Well actually there was that clumping stuff but it gets in between the cat's toes and they hate it. Throw up all over the place too. So in the one store where there was anything at all I grabbed the one last unscented bag plus the scented one just in case. Anyway my youngest opened it last week and the last of it was taken out for garbage today. As my youngest was dumping it out we both found we had to run for antihistamines in order to keep breathing. The effect was immediate and violent as the dust filled the air in our home. Yeuck. Note to self, if the stores ever run out of unscented again buy dirt or grass or something.

I had to get that letter for the tax lady sent off today to be certain it would arrive in our capital city on time. Deadlines to meet even if I still don't have the letter from the finance people in Ottawa for backup. Because I was having so much trouble with breathing and what I thought was a migraine I called a cab to get me that one community over and then back. I wasn't certain whether I would experience more problems with my lungs like the last outside walk I took and I don't want this sickness going on forever, you see. Anyway when I walked out side there were two people standing by a small grey car that was obviously not going to go anywhere any time soon. They had the hood propped open and were digging around in it's innards trying to figure out what wasn't connecting properly. They headed back into the other half of my duplex after commenting about the cab I was climbing into. New people it seems - or more people. Can't tell with that landlord. At least they smiled at me - that's a switch. Ditto for the other side of my dwelling. I haven't seen the nasty guy for quite some time. Doesn't mean he isn't lurking around but now there also seems to be a young couple with a couple of children therer a lot. It might be too much to ask but I am really hoping it means that the old bad neighbours have moved on. Wouldn't that be a blessing.

When I got to the post office there were two people in line front of me, two being served by the two clerks, all the customers being of European descent, and I was fine with that. I had told the cabbie to keep the meter running, but given the need to get those documents couriered it was important that I stay as long as it took to get it done. When the male just in front of me was called up by the one caucasian clerk another male slipped in front of me and approached the other clerk who had just become available. That clerk was from another culture and it was apparent that the male butting in front of me needed her to respond to him because his english was a bit dicey, they both shared the other language in common and his question didn't need much time for response. Fine again. But next after he left another woman came up behind me and the clerk who had been answering that question beckoned her to step in front of me. They started to speak together in the same language and that's when I spoke up for myself. I hate being made to feel rude, but the alternative was to be left standing there waiting while the four other people who were all from that language group and who had just walked in the door also were waited on by that clerk before me because of their linguistic preferences. The other clerk was tied up with a rather complicated transaction and didn't appear to be available anytime soon you see. Maybe if the cab's meter hadn't been running, and maybe if I wasn't standing there coughing uncontollably by now I would have waited but I really resented it at that time. When I have been in that post office before I have been waited on by the clerk from the different culture and I have been patient as she has worked through her training manual to look up the processes for the services I needed. This time when I spoke up and said I was next in line she was trying to refuse to accept the one package I had to be returned to a sender and didn't want to help me with the purchase of the other courier service either.She was getting quite rude when the other clerk came free and told her that she was to do it the way I had asked originally. She did that with a very poor attitude and then again tried to refuse me the courier service I had asked for as well. The other clerk finally stepped in and that is just as well. I wasn't feeling to patient by then. The other clerk seemed embarrassed but I wasn't certain if she was upset with me or theco-worker. At that point I just wanted to go home.

Arrived home and had just sat in front of the computer when my youngest srrived with the phone for me. The casting agency calling. Would I be willing to come in for a visit. Well yes it's that time of year I guess. Renewal of the contract. I don't hear from them for the balance of the year I've noticed, but what the heck. I would still like the opportunity to sit on a set so I can get an idea of what is needed in a screenplay. Sometimes paying a bit of a fee if it gets one the training they seek is ok I guess. If I don't get a chance to do that at least once or twice this year I can always say no to them when they call about a renewal next year. Right?

Anyway I'm tired and my youngest wants to check some more game faqs. Or maybe he just knows I'll likely go to bed a bit earlier that way. Either way I think I need some sleep. Maybe a nap in an unscented environment will help me feel better too. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats