Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:01 - 16.03.06
Neptunian
Foggy amd icy too. One just had to look outside today to decie to stay indoors if one could. Not that cold really just the imagery wea shivery. I slept a lot today. That's a big step forward. The last few weeks since I got sick I haven't been able to sleep longer than 2 or 3 hours at a go. Either my chest hurt too much from the coughing or I couldn't breathe. Today I got two whole six hour segments heavy with dreams about some weird work situation.

Why weird? Well it seemed to be acted out in a car lot. Sales and service. I don't drive and what I know about cars in real life is their size and colour - as long as they're not moving the pace most drivers in our city think is necessary. I digress. Anyway there were two or three other women working along with me and we seemed to be good friends. I could see us socializing a lot after work hours and we laughed a lot too. That was fine but the owner of the lot had another perspective on how and when we were to be available for him and what we could and could not say. Censorship and gag orders on topics that had nothing to do with cars. Apparently our "political" beliefs - how many children to have in a family - was a poor reflection on his business from his perspective. He looked and acted like a community president I used to volunteer with. Jawohl mein herr. He seemed to think we were his stable of mares - at least that's what he called us. We were supposed to be at his lot to provide sex appeal. Yeah right.

Anyway at one point I was off looking at a new home - I'm not certain if I was planning to rent it or what on my salary but it seemed there had been an inheritance or something similar which made the purchase possible. It was a Saturday and during my regular time off. The house was exactly what I wanted. Lots of wood inside and out, big garden enclosed by walls of some sort of masonry and gates and lots of natural sunlight streaming in through big picture windows/balconies. Secure and safe. I decided I would take it and headed off to work.

I arrived just minutes before my shift. I found one of the women who I was friends with there and she was telling me our boss was really angry with me. Why? Well I didn't consult him about viewing the home and I didn't get permission to look at it in the first place. He said I was disloyal and that he was going to fire me. I was stunned by that since losing my job could mean not having the move approved financially. He knew I was sitting in his office waiting for him to return so I could find out what was really wrong since I couldn't believe that he actually thought that I had to ask permission to move homes. He eventually walked off with his jacket tossed over his left shoulder acting as though he had been really wronged. I watched him walk down this long driveway and disappear. My friend said I should run afte him and beg forgiveness and I told her not in a million years would I do that. An employer doesn't own one outside work hours - slavery is illegal in this country. Has been since we were founded as a nation. Found myself outside in the rain walking down the highway looking for a ride. Near one of the shopping malls a car slowed down as it passed me and offered me sanctuary. Inside was that same friend who had been at the car park earlier. I woke up about then really puzzled.

Checked the mailbox this afternoon and found that another piece of mail had been tampered with. It was my elections credit card statement. There was no envelope at all - just the bill. I tried calling the fellow who had contacted me from the post office last week but he had already gone home for the day. I'll try again tomorrow I guess. It almost seems as though someone is baiting me and trying to force me to deal with the police about it since that is what the rep said would have to occur. Why else be so flagrant? I was so upset at the postal depot yesterday when I was trying to get that couriering done that I didn't check my post office box eiher. Guess this is a Mercury retrograde issue too. I'd like to think it will go away next weekend - March 25 - when Mr Mercury turns himself back around but I'm not counting on it. Don't know what to think about it. I called city hall too to arrange to pick up my house plans. The regular lady I work with is on holidays I guess, but the young guy who was filling in for her was very attentive and willing to answer my questions. I guess one out of two isn't bad. At least it's something - right dear diary?

I was listening to PBS programs tonight while I was working on other tasks. Guess my hormones must still be out of whack from being sick. Mr Bocelli has a beautiful liquid voice and he was performing in Las Vegas. He was asked to sing something appropriate for the location. He started singing Elvis's "I Can't Help Falling in Love With You" and I started to cry. I don't know what triggered that but after all these years it finally seems to have sunk in that he really is dead. Dumb eh? Not really because as long as his songs were played on the radio/TV he really wasn't gone was he? To hear someone else sing that particular song, even with a fabulous voice, with an interpretation that wasn't even close to the original seemed awfully final. It's odd though how much Elvis has been on my mind too and I don't understand that either? He is the one movie star I actually ever had a "crush" on and I claim immunity on that one because I wasn't even out of diapers when I first heard him sing. How could one not love falling asleep to that voice - especially that song. When we were small my mom would drop me and my sister next in age after me off at the Palace Theater on Saturdays when there were Elvis double features while she took my other sisters shopping for groceries with her. The doorman always watched for us and slipped us up into the balcony whenever he could. Those were some of the best times I remember growing up - feeling like an adult because I was responsible for my sister and a big spender too since we always got enough money to but popcorn and pop too. I think my favorites were Fun in Acapulco, the one where he sings Frankie and Johnny, the one where he sang Little Egypt, Blue Hawaii, of course, ummm well I guess I don't need to keep listing do I? Anyway the cats are getting ready for their nightly game of - well it's sort of a cross between soccer, football, and hockey - where there are two teams each trying to take each other mouse while moving their own to strategic positions. It is actually fascinating to watch but I still can't figure out all the rules. Too bad cats can't talk, eh?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats