Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:36 - 06.06.05
Sunday Sermon
I spent some time reading the history of the one company whose data I'm now analysing. It is a story of two people who went against the current beliefs and wisdom of the time based on their own gut feeling, with a dash of expertise and vision that no one else had. What is fascinating is the perspective of world events that drove the choices they made. That was in the 1970's projecting into the 1980's. Still cold war, with the Middle East just waking to it's potential instead of focussing on it's past. In retrospect it looks easy. What was most impressive was the fact that the two never exploited or abused the staff and partners they had to get where they wanted to go. By valuing each person's contribution, whatever role they played, they benefitted from an intense commitment and loyalty to their goals that was a major factor in their survival in a hostile business environment.

The problem with my PC last night? Phishers I think. At least the robot kept trying to open the pre-existing form filler option on the unit. I don't use it for that very reason. No information of a financial nature resides on my computer. The risk is too great. The spyware locked up the settings on my PC as well, so my youngest had to reset everything to default to remove it.

That had me dreaming about escaping the present by travelling to the past. Living in a castle and spending my days wandering through European museums, galleries, cathedrals and dining al fresco in the summer sun. I suppose some people would find this adventure in the Himalayas exciting, but I think this German couple's adventures travelling throughout Australia, New Zealand, South Asia and now the Middle East might be even more appealing. However, if any of the trips listed above were somehow possible I doubt I'd turn the opportunity down right now.

Best news of the day was this story about the breakthrough in conquering the Ebola and Marburg viruses and the realization that cities in Canada should have more say in Federal policy-making.

Time for bed and dreaming I think, maybe next week will be better.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats