Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

23:05 - 06.06.05
Wash Day
It was Graycie's fault. Around 1 am last night I was just adding the last link to my post to you when Graycie stepped on the "escape" key. An hour's worth of work up in smoke. I said some very bad words then wrote a second, much abbreviated version. Lucky you. Normally I do a quick check to make certain links work and the information I've presented as "facts" are accurate. Didn't do that last night because I still hadn't read to my youngest. That ranked higher on the priority list to be done before going to bed. I wasn't feeling all that great and getting up early for work was mandatory. Bet you found all the mistakes by now haven't you dear diary. Two links that don't connect and the Dalai Lama's birthday. I got that from a site I usually find very accurate but it underlines why one cross checks facts from two or three sources minimum. His birth date is correct but he was born in July. On the up side I got in extra prayers of thanks for his being a role model and guide post for me - well I try - so that's all to the good, right?

Today? Called Elections Canada to deal with that "urgent" problem they raised on Friday. What they were really doing was verifying that my computer access was still uncompromised. Dan answered the call and just about gave me a heart attack when he read off the notes he was working from. Turned out he was reading about another Returning Officer - I'm ok. I was at work but a few minutes early so no time was lost from my "real" work day. Logged in to my computer, did my weekly report and sent it off with a note that asked why the recorded cumulative number of done edits in the one program had dropped from the week before. Short of actually removing some records that isn't possible. There should be at least another 1500 in addition to the original numbers. Continued on coding.

In the afternoon I popped in to the Tibetan shop in the one market thinking I would pick up a meditation tape or something from there. A gift for me and a contribution to the work in Tibet as well. that's when I found out about that one error. The owner must have felt sorry for me because he handed me a photo of His Holiness to take with me after he had rung up and packed my purchase. Funny how strong the sense of peace and groundedness was that came over me when I glanced at it. Carried it with me for the rest of the day trying to remember the teahings.

Returned to work but not really since I was scheduled in to that mandatory computer security workshop. The presenter was from Fort Worth - head office. Just listening to his voice was a pleasure - nice accents, those Texans. The prsentation was actually quite interesting complete with a whodunit type video that showed the most common methods of industrial spying/sabotage. Some of the information sort of twigged when it came to the problems we encountered during the last election. That voter fraud inquiry has now been ended, but the court dates have been set to try several of the people involved.

Returned to my station after and continued on where I had left off. At the end of the afternoon I spent some time just talking with my superviosr about some of the issues I've raised or was coming across today. She leaves for Houston tomorrow for a week of meetings. After trying to determine if her basic needs could be met on a "wee hours of the morning" flight - where's the coffee - she allowed that she heard there were thundershowers forecast for her time there. Being that she spent much of her childhood in Africa the heat wouldn't be an issue for her but she said the humidity would. Doesn't really matter where she is though. We've had another day of steady downpours here with a flood warning issued for the south half of the province for the next few day. This afternoon the river pathway was just about under water on the sections that go under the bridges in and out of downtown and there were huge puddles just about anywhere one stepped.

One of my co-workers said her roof had sprung a leak on the weekend and the water was literally pouring in to her home. Their insurance company said they wouldn't cover the repairs because it was "normal wear and tear". Right. One of her neighbours whole roof and wall caved in as a result of the same problem. that is not normal wear and tear. The housing was constructed to meet the building codes in force then. I suggested she call the agency that monitors insurance companies ethics. So I leave you with existential comics as your only link for tonight dear diary. I promise I'll make certain it works before logging out for the night.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats