Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:13 - 05.06.05
Ghostly Images
The computer is behaving very strangely, dear diary, so I hope this entry gets posted before anything else goes awry. Maybe Fred has followed me home. Since cats are reputed to be able to see ghosts I guess I'll know in short order.

We've been on tornado watch all day. I didn't know about that until the news at supper time which is a good thing. I was, quite frankly, enjoying the thunder crackling across the sky. I've always been under the impression that it has to be very hot before optimum conditions are created for twisters, yet several were sighted today. I guess just violent opposition of air currents are enough since our daytime high only reached 16 C/60 F. The satellite video showing the war of the winds was fascinating.

Earlier in the day I was dreaming about the arctic again. This time travelling in a kayak/umiak in the Beaufort Sea. It seemed as though I was trying to escape someone. I must have been pretty desperate because that sea is also extremely violent. I came to some big ice - maybe icebergs that seemed to have melded together. I was told - I'm certain by who - that I would have to dive under the water and paddle that umiak underneath the ice to get to the freedom I sought. Arctic seas are not for swimming in thank you very much. Having a boat hermetically attached around one's midsection might allow for more flotation, but one will still freeze within minutes. I did as I was told and ducked under the one shelf, coming up in an ice cave that had that green shade of old coke bottles from the '50's. It was claustrophobic and petrifying being in there, not knowing whether I would encounter any of the fierce arctic predators trying this passage. I could feel the presence of several but none came any closer. I woke as I reached the other side of the iceberg. Strange dream, that. Maybe it had to do with the birth of this whooping Crane or maybe this fungus among us. One school in Britsh Columbia had to be shut down when over 20 children started suffering severe asthmas attacks. Don't know for certain that the fungus in question was responsible but some sort of pollen or air borne spores were obviusly in unusually high concentrations. Maybe the arrivng on the "other side" had to do with this initiative of major North American cities.

Well the female felines are very restless and Fred is making his presence known so I think I'll sign off for tonight so I can try to fix the poor old PC. Good night.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats