Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:47 PM - 06.09.04
Blame Game
I received an e-mail from my friend who lives in the Middle East. She and her hubby have returned there for the autumn school term despite the instability. I've been reading the e-magazines for the area and they do try to create the perception that things are better, but some of the stories within their "pages" indicate otherwise.

One of my sister's friends, whose family were in the same country as my friend, have evacuated at the request of the Canadian government. They were told that their safety could not be guaranteed even though they are there for humanitarian work. Eight of the ex-pat children that their sons played hockey with while overseas were killed in one of the bombings of the foreigners' quarter. I don't think they want to risk their children's lives especially when it is being made clear that the community they wish to serve doesn't want them there.

I spent my afternoon sending out resumes by e-mail. The weekend was a blur of carbohydrate and retail therapy. That, along with the nightmares I'm having nightly, is a clear signal I need to move on. I can't stay in this situation much longer or my health is going to start to break again. I haven't heard from my supervisor in over a week either. I know he is swamped. For all I know he may have taken a well deserved break or he may have other personal issues that are keeping him too tied up to respond to the concerns I've raised. I can't expect him to take responsibility for me or my health, so that just leaves me with the one option of finding another job on my own. Maybe it's just time to move on - don't know.

During my astrological reading my friend the astrologer asked me what my idea of hell was. He allowed his was being forced to sit and listen in the state legislature while the government was in session. I laughed but it isn't far from my idea of it I guess. It is easy to detest the actions of our Premier and his bunch of toadies and goons, but at the same time a lot of people keep him in power so I guess they are as much to blame - right?

Given that this is a man who had people willing to follow his lead wherever he chose to go, it is very frustrating that he opted to pander to the lowest common denomiator in our society. You know the type. The ones, who if they were featured in the parable of the Good Samaritan, would have rolled the victim of the thieves, made certain they gave him an extra few kicks while he was down so that they could go loot the poor man's home while he was defenseless. Then they would blame hime for being sick and homeless and spend their days making it impossible for him or his family to ever get back on their feet. Their rationale? More for me - why should I have to share with someone I helped destroy in the first place. Are there no poor houses, no orphanges,... bah humbug.

Helped along with these antics were some really venal, self absorbed media types Conrad_Black who presented themselves and their little political puppets as astute business men/women who would turn the economy around. They certainly did that - emptied as much of it as they could into their own and their friends pockets. This man bought himself a Lordship from a weak monarchy and then used that as "proof" of their superior intellect. Yeah just like Bart Simpson represents a gifted child. Personally I always thought the reference to Jesus descending to the seventh level of Hell - don't recall where that was Bible or Apochryphal material - meant his time on earth. You know, other beings in dimensions beyond ours would say "Be careful, if you do much worse you'll end up being sent down to Earth!" For me then I guess hell is being forced to watch as these people get away with their looting and destruction in the name of "fiscal conservatism" oh yes and the Name of (Denomination of current domination) God. That poor guy gets blamed for everything doesn't he?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats