Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:41 PM - 07.09.04
Grumbles
I think it was Thumper in Bambi who said "if you can't say something nice, don't say anything at all". I'm cranky and I'm well aware of that fact, but I need to vent somewhere. This is the only safe place I have. I can't speak directly to the people who are causing me distress nor can I speak about much of it to people I know, because one never knows where or who it will be passed on to, right dear diary.

I did e-mail my Member of Parliament's assistant today. My Assistant and 8 of my polling day staff have still not been paid and the reasons and processes I am being required to follow are just time wasting and obstructive. I've confirmed that they did the jobs listed - cut their cheques. Right. Remember that Elections Canada is terrible when it comes to paying me, dear diary. The pattern is easy to trace over my entries the past two years, so you can imagine how much consideration they give to my requests for other people. Somewhere between zip and nil. However, should they want something, I'm supposed to give up paid work time to accommodate them. I know - I should quit if I don't like the treatment. And I might. This past election cost me a great deal of work and therefore wages. I think democracy is incredibly important and I love the work itself but I'm tired of ponying up all the time so that other people can go to the trough at my expense. Cranky - yeah..

I spoke with one of the other Calgary Returning Officers today and she is being sent off to the Ukraine for a couple of months to do some election preparation. She sent me the organization's web address and some of the courses they are offering. I'd love to take the courses, but I don't had several thousand dollars to spend right now - not even several thousand pennies for that matter.

Sent another note to my supervisor - weekly report yesterday - because of more changed orders at work. I can deal with those, but someone went through my purse again today where I left it in the boardroom/office. I went to get passport photos at lunch, because one of the resumes is for an overseas posting with our army - as a civilian of course sort of like the Returning Officer I just mentioned, I'd never make it through basic training now. At least I'll know why people are causing me harm there - I'm in their territory uninvited - I can deal with that. I'd like to be prepared just in case, though. Besides I might win a lottery if I remember to buy a ticket someday and then I'm going travelling.

Anyway, I was at the scanning station when I decided I needed some meds. I walked in to the boardroom and opened my purse because that's where I keep my aspirin (do I have to put in that trademark thingy - if so,how?). I had shoved those photos to the bottom of my purse because - well they LOOKED like passport photos. Bleaghh. You know - just got out of bed after a three day bender. Would be fine if one had the fun of a bender first though wouldn't it. Sorry I digress again. When I opened my purse, the envelope with the photos was at the top of everything else and it looked as though the envelope had been opened. Also when I popped into the bathroom to take said aspirin the liaison, co-ordinator and one of the female technicians I've kind of wondered about with respect to the weird stuff going on, were huddled in the powder room section of the washroom. As I walked through to the other side I heard the co-ordinator, who is a bit hard of hearing, whisper loudly "oh, here she is". Since I was the only other "she" in the room I can't imagine who else they would have been discussing in the derogatory way they were speaking. Feels just like junior high somehow, but at least juvenile somehow fits as a behaviour then doesn't it.

I tried to stick to facts of a work nature and the details of the problems with my comments to my supervisor, but I must admit that the frustration driving me to speak at all was considerably intensified by every thing else going on. The liaison came through the library this morning with one of the records staff from the company being taken over. I think she wants everyone to worry about getting or keeping a position in her little domain. I didn't respond with any interest at all, so I might be partly to blame for the reaction later I guess. In my note to my supervisor I said I felt that I was a sitting duck and that with the constant change in direction and decisions that whatever I do would always be "wrong". I said I wanted out of this contract. I will help him find someone else to take my place if he wants some help, but he just might tell me to get lost too. I don't know because I just don't know why there has been such a silence from him. I can't think of anything I've done wrong, but maybe he thinks I have. I don't know. Now, I wonder who I wouldn't mind losing as a friend after referring them for this position? Got any suggestions dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats