Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:15 PM - 2004-08-15
Storms
Well our Ms Kitty was truly p'd off last night. How do I know? My youngest left to go help out my oldest with his babies while his partner was in surgery at about 2 pm. She puffed and she pouted because the last few times she has been taken along to help track down the mice that have been sneaking in their back door.

I noted in last night's post that I was going to go call to see if everything was ok. It was near 11 pm. I called and called the cell phone number but got no response. In hospitals here all phones must be turned off - don't want interference with pace makers and other delicately calibrated technology do we - not if it's one of your relatives that's hooked up to said technology. In these circumstances, nonews is good news just didn't fit. I waited and called and called finally giving in and going to bed after I had a glass of my Japanese plum wine to allow me to sleep. Visions of everything but sugarplums had been dancing in my head before then.

By the time I'd calmed down enough to sleep it was 4 in the am. Pulled back my covers and - you got it -Ms Kitty had shown her displeasure for the day's events by p'ing all over my side of the bed. Uh huh. Now you should know by now, dear diary, that I have no ability to drink liquor anymore. One glass of wine and the room was spinning and my balance was questionable. Washing bedding at that point in time was a no go. Ms Kitty was sitting off to the side gloating and preening. One of the benefits of having a queen size bed when one is single is that there is the other side of the bed. Oh yeah, she'd forgotten that. It took a bit of work to shift the shelf or two of books that usually covers that side of the bed but I had plenty of space to curl up in. I went to bed and she took off in a snit. She was so angry she managed to slide into the well of the mostly closed kitchen window and rip out the screen. She returned at about 4 pm today covered in cobwebs. Serves her right.

My son had gone home from the hospital, turned off his cell phone and slept deeply -relief is a great sedative isn't it. He finally called at about noon today to give me the news that things went very well. Surgery yes, but with better than expected results. She'll likely be discharged tomorrow after the last IV is removed. He'd been woken up by number three son who lives one community away, whom I'd called a bit earlier to ask if he could pop in and check things out. Number three son then drove number one son to the hospital and I chatted with my youngest and my grandson for a while. They were playing the spiderman game for one of the game systems and were obviously enjoying each others company. Did they want to come back here and stay for a while? No but could I send food? Apparently, there is enough over there but not the protein based diet my youngest prefers. I'll get the home delivery people on it tomorrow - they don't do special orders on Sundays.

The sky was really grey and threatening by the time I got off the phone. Forest fires in all the surrounding provinces and territories. We've been luckier in that we've had more rain, the other places are like tinderboxes. The cats were restless and quite agitated by supper time. They were clustered around me following every step I took - all 14 of them. That's quite discomfitting that is. Obviously they felt something coming - I did too but I'd had enough stress to last for a bit. Went into the computer room and shut the door.

Spent two hours writing the report my supervisor had asked for on Friday afternoon. He only wanted a page and that took a bit of work given the weeks events. The whole point of the report was to document the problems that occurred daily and that requires a certain amount of detail. Anyway I finally managed to get it terse and comprehensive at the same time. I also asked to have the next couple of days off. One because the problems at work are something my supervisor wants to address directly without me being in the line of fire at the same time and two because discharging patients too early after surgery ahs become a major problem in this province because of funding cutbacks. The rate of patients returning because of setbacks is sometimes 30% in certain classes of illness. If I can be available to help then maybe my daughter in law won't have to go through that. Besides I love playing with my grandbabies.

As I was finishing off my report I realized what the cats were likely on about. Ear-splitting thunder and massive bolts of lightning - yes. The pall of smoke from the forest fires and the smog and made the day feel hot and muggy. Its been raining since. Those cats? Well they were all lying on my bed when I emerged from writing my story for my boss. They all stood up purring as I entered the room. I wasn't fooled though. They just wanted food by that time. So dear diary, I guess I'd better go feed the darlings and tuck them into their beds. That way I can open all the doors and windows and let the storm in. Win win. Good night.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats