Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:22 PM - Monday, Aug. 16, 2004
Backwards
It was a "pouring down rain" night last night. My oldest called from the hospital at about midnight. He'd forgotten that bus service on Sunday - especially after supper - is almost non-existent. Their car had broken down the day before his partner had to go for surgery, so he had no other transportation. Could I cover cab fare for him if he walked over. Yes. I don't have a vehicle either, dear diary, or the question would have been moot. Emergencies are the only time I miss having access to a vehicle.

When he arrived about a half hour later, we headed off to the ATM a couple of blocks away. It was 1 am before we got home, but it was a nice walk. The streets were deserted and the air was warm even though it was still pouring. When my guys were little, it was the only time of day I could get out for a hike on my own. At that time, I really needed an hour or so to decompress and destress. I love my children, but small ones require a great deal of self restraint some days and it is important to burn off that built up stress. After midnight there was just me, other moms like me and the police patroling the community. Very calm and peaceful. Sometimes it was hard to come back in. My other option was to walk over to the park I helped fund raise to build just before sunrise. I loved watching that sun come up over the horizon in the summer all pink and gold and orange and green.

Anyway back to the present. Today was very quiet. I wasn't feeling all that perky - my tailbone ached, change in weather coming maybe. Could just be where I'm carrying the stress I'm feeling too. I found an e-mail waiting for me from my supervisor just confirming that he had received my report and acknowledged my request for time off,when I finally strolled into the computer room after playing with the kittens and feeding the brood. If I don't do that first they dance on the keyboard and other such things - drives me crazy. It's just easier to get their day underway first. Mr Trinity snuck out the front door when I went to grab the mail later in the day. He left with major attitude but slunk back about an hour later a sadder but wiser Tomcat. The world is not a feline friendly place. In this community the dogs rule - big dogs with big teeth. Them and the hawks. No place for an outdoor cat. His sisters comforted him and then the babies got into the act. I don't think he'll try that again anytime soon.

Mercury retrograde story? I went on-line to order groceries to be delivered to my oldest son's house as requested by my youngest son last night - he of the "there's not enough protein to eat here". Fine. Tried to click on the selection buttons and nothing happened. Nothing in the cart and no charges being accrued. What gives. Tried shutting down and rebooting the computer several times - no good. Called their customer support. "Well you must have done something that changed the settings in your internet options." "Nope, last successful order was Wednesday night. Haven't done anything since." "Well would you go into to tools and check the option selections." Fine. Nothing changed and the JAVA functions- the suspected problem - were all selected and operational as I had indicated. Well try personal preferences then. Same thing, no changes made and all the options are as they had been before. "Well there is a program that you can download - another browser that we use in the office it only takes a couple of minutes." Alright.

The stupid software took over my computer then reset my preferences. In addition, even with a firewall and other paid for security on my computer, it started sending information OUT someplace else, according to my firewall program. I got a bit testy at that point and told the tech that a) I shouldn't have to use a browser other than one of my choice to access their service and b) I wanted the one they had just talked me into downloading off my system RIGHT NOW. "But this one is better." Nope, not if it is sending data about my computer use somewhere else it isn't. Lo and behold no uninstall feature. Quelle surprise eh? Finally found a way to delete the offending software, then turned my attention to the problem with the existing browser - the one I've been using for the past eight months when accessing this service. "But ma'am..." No but Ma'am - "either it is done the way I want or I won't use your service ever again". At that point I think the tech looked at how much I was spending using their service and decided that perhaps I had a point. They want me as a customer then I shouldn't be forced to use some other software that I don't understand and don't want, right? Took about an hour of talking on the phone with the tech. The end result was that the browser I use had been corrupted in some fashion and it had to be reinstalled.

Next bit of trouble? I finally submitted the order I wanted to go to my son's home at 2:45 PM today. I needed groceries too - cat litter and such - but I decided to wait until after the daily order deadline so it would be clear I was placing two separate orders - the address and special instructions added in the first order being the giveaway to my intentions, right? Not according to the software. Despite the fact I chose door number one - new order - when ordering for myself I received a confirmation e-mail that indicated that the two orders had been merged and would be delivered to my son's home tomorrow. Better not happen. I stopped talking to you, dear diary, in order to send an e-mail to their customer service people, asking that they call and confirm they received the memo and that they understood my instruction clearly. I included a copy of the original confirmation e-mail with it so there could be no mistakes. But then again..... Mercury - pain in the ..... that Mr Quicksilver.

Number four son just arrived home from work - guess I'd better go feed the young man before he perishes from hunger or falls asleep over the stove. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats