Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:46 p.m. - 2003-11-09
Sensible Shoes
Girdles and orthopaedic shoes are the theme of today's post, dear diary. Why? Well, both are supposed to serve the function of "propping" one up where one is weak or "deficient" in some way. The problem with both, of course, is that instead of correcting the problem over time, most people develop a dependency on them that can often be compounded when that reliance creates additional negative side effects. For example, when my oldest son was an infant the latest fad in medicine was to go back to the '50's practice of putting newly-walking toddlers into those horrid baby boots - to support their weak little ankles. Now having taken physiotherapy, I knew what strengthened the feet and ankles - exercises that used the very muscles that held those bones together. The best exercise, of course, is WALKING barefoot! What effect did baby boots have on those muscles? They kept them weak. In fact, over time they also affected the muscles in the feet, legs, and hips - not in a good, functional way - and altered the natural gait of the child as well. Then there are girdles. I put one on once a couple of weeks after I had my first son. It was Christmas Day and I couldn't fit into my size 3 or 6 (fat clothes at that time - dream size now) regular clothes. I was not going to wear my maternity clothes under any circumstances and my ex's sweats just weren't dressy enough. However, one day in that instrument of torture - how did women survive those whalebone corsets, oh wait, they often didn't - was enough to convince me that a little pot belly was not such a criminal matter.

I was trying to come up with an analogy that served to describe my distress over the past while. Yesterday, my Dad called and asked if I wanted to go visit my brother and do some grocery shopping. Yes to both. My brother was staffing my Dad's store for the day, so we picked up lunch and headed over there. The conversation came around to some particular politicians who are about to move up in the ranks of public life. They already have a backhoe dredging up goodies at the public trough for family and friends. I expressed my concern that the promotion would just enforce their belief that they had a right to steal from taxpayers and would also encourage even more theft from both him and those who he "leads". I linked it back to what I'd seen in the corporate world I work in. Scarier yet is that these people are then going to be making and "overseeing" the enforcement of justice in their venue as politicians. Permission for corporate criminals to do likewise, by example. Oh yes, there will still be the laws that put bank robbers in jail for longer than people who murder others, but those laws won't apply to those who steal much more than the average bank robber can dream of. My Dad and brother were of the opinion that that is how the world works and it is actually better to have someone like that in power - "because it takes one to know one". Now, often the two of them will argue black is white, just for the sake of being Devil's advocate, but they seemed pretty serious about what they said on this issue. Made my depression even deeper. Is that the general consensus in this country? Those politicians are going to play the part of baby boots/girdle to our society. How long before those of us in the corporate sector who try to be honest are going to find there is no way to protest the theft we see, because it is modelled by our "leaders" all the way down to the mailroom and enforced by "common practice" that can be argued as a defence in the courts. This is about to be reinforced by the senate and parliament's quibbling about creating an independent commissioner to oversee such things, torpedo the enabling legislation completely.

Then last night there was the eclipse/harmonic concordance that so many are looking to for the emergence the "one" spiritual leader or revelation that will free the world. Uh huh - how many of THOSE religions have we seen develop over thousands of years - each with the "ultimate" answer to all humanity's problems. We've seen the effects of that - bloody genocidal wars, and sexual and economic exploitation of those they say they serve and protect most. Two dreams about that. One of a man emerging, who looked a lot like Buck Rogers, who spearheaded a "mission" that destroyed much of the structures now in the world along with anyone nearby - in the name of cleansing the old evils. Funny how one can justify using the same tactics, the same "old evils", but they're okay if it's in the service of a new faith hmmmmmm? The second dream was of a similar "cleansing" in the corporate world only to replace the dictator - not the circumstances. I woke up pretty depressed this morning.

The first thing I saw, upon rising, was the newspaper and a story about the terrorist attack in Riyadh. My friend doesn't live there, but close enough as the crow flies, to make her safety a question. So I logged into the Arab News wanting to get the most accurate report I could. As I was searching for the information I wanted, I came across this editorial on the subject of my dreams and concerns about corruption at the top of society's food chain. arabnews_editorial Pretty gutsy for an editor to take on the religious leaders in his own society. That made me feel a little more hopeful. Then an e-mail arrived from my friend confirming her and her hubby's safety, although sounding as though she expects more to come - and soon. Relief for the moment.

Next I checked my e-newsletters from Canadian news sources and came across this editorial from a business writer corporate_theft that also made me feel less isolated with my concerns. Business ethics are not situational and for expedience, according to someone who should understand the "pressures" businesses face. I wonder if all these white collar thieves ever think of what - or who - causes so much pressure on the workers and families they hurt in the community as a result of their untrammeled greed and negligence. An unhealthy workforce or community is worse for business than any other factor they choose to cite.

Next up, maybe addressing the core reason I was feeling so depressed, were two columns by a couple of very influential writers - one financial guru and one social commentator, who addressed the issue of women's treatment in the workplace. It helps, in a wry sort of way, to know that it isn't just the rank and file pink collar workers who are taking a pounding. Misery needs company - although I wish I could hear of gains somewhere. The financial expert's commentary: Workforce and the social commentary that complements it, although the two writers are usually at odds with each other, Ford are both columns I wish I could have had with me yesterday when I was talking with my Dad and brother. If nothing else, it would have been more entertaining, since the one writer usually has my Dad's blood pressure up a number of points for hours after reading her comments. All I have to do then is revisit the topic.

And yes, I am having cheese with my whine. Cream cheese to be precise and semi-sweet chocolate chips for dessert. Think I'll go find a harlequin romance now to round out the binge indulgences.

�

previous - next

�

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats