Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:49 a.m. - 2003-11-08
This and That
Not a lot to say tonight. I received another call from the Chief of Emergency Services today. He just let me know what they had been able to determine about the toxic substance that had been released and that they didn't think they had any further clues to follow. I asked him too, about the use of pepper spray on the train. The constables that patrol them are now allowed to carry and use it. Being asthmatic, and trapped in a car where that was released, could be deadly for people like me. He explained the training and the circumstances that a discharge of it would be allowed and explained how I should protect myself. I'm still not entirely happy about it, but at least I know what to expect now. He left his number with me if I wanted to talk with him further about anything. Nice guy.

I also got a call from one of the newly appointed Returning Officers for the Provincial government. Their ridings are not co-terminous with the Federal ones, so my constituencey includes or covers about four of theirs once the new boundaries come into effect. Before that I had seven provincial ridings represented in my one Federal one. She had just returned from training and wanted to know if I could spend some time with her. She's finding the tasks a little bit overwhelming. Don't blame her. I don't mind working with the Provincial ROs at all. In the end we all benefit. In past elections it has helped with identifying workers who aren't able to deal with the public or their co-workers appropriately and smoothed the way for things like renting polling stations or gathering supplies. All those little short cuts can save a lot of time that can be better invested in other demands for our skills. Besides that she sounded like a nice person to know.

I spoke with one of my sisters today too, for about two hours, and we covered a lot of topics. However, I didn't hear from my supervisor yet and that was difficult to deal with. Means I can't plan for anything like the time I need with the new RO. The liaison he is dealing with is notorious for not returning calls or for not showing up for meetings - either being an hour late or not arriving at all. I think she sees it as a clever bargaining tactic. Who am I to say. I don't respect someone who uses that approach myself, because it just shows me they feel powerless without their game of passive aggression. The message I get is "I can abuse you, so I will". When I went into the lawyers' office the other day, I encountered a similar behaviour from the receptionist. She was from one of the new Canadian communities and she kept pretending she couldn't understand me. When she came back from showing the lawyer on site my documents, she understood just fine. Don't know what her problem was, but it's a good way to lose a lot of business for her bosses.

Miss Kitty has become quite animated since the mouse victory. She was quite perturbed when we turned the nursery into my office as well and led her kittens on several forays to my planters. She was teaching the babies how to dig out my plants as revenge, I guess. Now all is forgiven and she spends her time demonstrating pouncing, feints, and shredding techniques instead. Almost makes the mouse invasion look good. Each evening now if I don't start exercising on time (according to them)Miss Kitty and then slowly, all the babies, will stand in the doorway of whatever room I'm in until I give in and go play ribbons with them. I think I'm going to get in shape whether I like it or not. The kittens are still being unusually affectionate. They all want to be held and cuddled constantly and I can't lie down without having two or three snuggle up with me. When number two son dropped in yesterday, he was talking about his partner's Father's funeral. Trinity climbed up on his lap and gave him the closest thing to a hug that a kitten could manage. These babies seem to read emotions very well. It's very comforting to have them.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats