Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:20 p.m. - 2003-09-26
clean up
Clumping cat litter - what a marketing coup. The stuff ends up like cement everywhere - in the litter box, on cat fur, and anywhere else it lands. Must be just great for the environment too. Miss Kitty was trained when she came to us, but she's so messed up (pun intended) with this stuff that she's started making her toilette elsewhere in the house. Right on one of the landings it is, where everyone can share in it with her. We are not amused. To add insult to injury the kittens have been getting sick because they can't clean themselves properly and the darn stuff costs about double the price of the low tech pea gravel combination I usually buy. We've switched back and won't make that mistake again.

Today one of the kittens slipped out of the house when I was retrieving the mail. I didn't see her, but I certainly heard the yowling after I'd shut the door. She was clawing her way up the srceen looking frantic. I felt badly about it, but maybe the rest of the troupe will decide that charging through a door just because it's open isn't such a good idea. I'm glad that she decided not to explore first before getting scared - some of the others would have and the story might have ended differently. Poor little thing was really clingy after that. I guess I'll be retrieving the mail late at night after I've got them bedded down from now on.

To ease the pain, I started hanging up the Hallowe'en decorations in-house for the babies to play with. Sparkly spiders, "dem bones", and various streamers that can be batted around to great effect. All the kittens seem to be having a fine time with them. I don't usually put that stuff up outside until just before Hallowe'en - maybe there'll still be pieces of it intact for this year. Doesn't matter. I hand out juice boxes because they're healthy treats and the boxes are sealed so that safety issues aren't a factor. I don't usually have a lack of visitors even if all the decoration I have up is a single pumpkin. I think the trick or treaters (or their parents) pass along information about which houses to hit or miss.

Not much more to say today. When I talked with one sister today - one mystery solved. I've been fighting with a flu/cold that has really sapped my energy this week. I felt really angry with myself because I should be more aggressive with the job search now that my hip is healed and my breathing WAS fine. Seems her son had the infection on the weekend and she passed it on both to all of my family through me and to my sister's family through her. Frustrating - I had also wanted to go through another layer of housecleaning and increase the difficulty and variety in my exercise program. I know the timeline is artificial and only I know it, but I'd like to feel like I'm not spinning my wheels so much. Oh well.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats