Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:48 p.m. - 2003-09-25
Communication.
I spent most of today dealing with telecommunications issues. Wasn't Mercury supposed to go direct last Saturday? Doesn't matter, I think in my little corner of the world it has stayed retrograde since, um well whenever.

First up, we've been receiving calls for "Angela" non-stop in the evenings for about a week now. Lots of calls. When I've talked with her friends (at least I assume that's who they are) they've responded that they were all dialing the same number - one that isn't even close to mine. I've had my number for about 15 years. It isn't as if an error could have been made in transcription between two new accounts either. I suggested to a couple of the more articulate callers (most just have grunted her name then hung up when we say she doesn't live here) that they let "Angela" know, so that she can straighten things out with her service provider. After a week though, I decided I'd had enough and called my phone company. For all I know, some of my incoming calls could have been misdirected - just when I'm trying to find work, of course. When I described the problem there was one of "those" silences on the other end of the line. You know, the "something's really wrong" type of stillness. Then the gentleman gave me a series of tasks to do and that was the end of the discussion. Fine. I did as instructed and went on to problem number two.

I think because of all the virus attacks lately, my internet service provider sent a free anti-virus bundle to each of their subscribers. I already had Norton installed, but a second tool isn't unwelcome. I was able to activate the pop up ad blocker - yes! - but none of the other features including the anti-virus software would work. Called the tech support to hear a message apologizing for the crashed internet links and lack of access to e-mail today. I'm guessing some hacker decided to try out the security of the new software. I hadn't deinstalled the Norton program as instructed when I received the new service - that's probably why I didn't have e-mail or internet problems today. Anyway, I talked with a technician who couldn't figure out why my program wasn't working - then all of a sudden it was. Fine. Had to call yet another number to have another protection added to the bundle because it was "optional". For some reason there was another problem with the password - the one I had just used twice and the user id - so both had to be reset. Everything's done the way I want now though - I hope. Obviously there's more to the story than I'm being told.

While all this was going on, another odd phone call - after the "Angela" problem had already been fixed. I have call display and the number seemed vaguely familiar, so I picked up. A female asking for someone, but the name was unintelligible. When I asked for clarification she hung up. Checked the number in the reverse directory and realized it belonged to the wife of a man I worked with about 15 years ago on a couple of volunteer committees. I haven't talked with him in about a decade. Just odd.

Dreamwise my brain seemed to be all over the place too. A short sequence where my sister and I were discussing taking her daughters to the circus. Some concern about one of the acts being too frightening for them. This from the sister who loved horror movies - the scarier the better - ever since she was her daughters' age. Ok.

Next the scene shifted and I was watching people enclosed on different airborne international flights - sort of as if the inside of the cabins had webcams recording everything and transmitting it, except I was seeing everything inside my mind. Someone on the ground with me would ask about one of the people on a plane and I would tell them what that person was doing or thinking. It was freaking the people with me out - why were they asking questions then? Next, one of the people I worked/volunteered with in the survivors of torture program and I seemed to be preparing the supplies for a medical mercy mission. All the logistics seemed to be in our hands for the journey to the disaster area too. The doctor and his family, wife and two children, arrived to board - seemed to be an ocean vessel of some sort. The shore was rocky and the seas were high and violent. Cold weather as if it might be winter. We had to reassure them that all their personal effects would all arrive for their use too.

The scene shifted once again, I was still working on helping with the disaster logistics and the rescue mission, but now I was back downtown working in the same building as the women who caused so much trouble in my last contract. I kept running into one of them as I was carrying out my duties. She was very angry and nervous that I was around, but she couldn't stop me doing my job this time, even though it appeared she had tried. It appeared, in some way, that what I was doing exposed her activities back to the time she was supervising the department while I was working in it. In some way all the issues I was dealing with were affecting and were affected by her. I could see the police closing the gap in evidence. It seemed that they were close to arresting her and her accomplices. Then I woke up.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats