Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:36 p.m. - 2003-08-20
Blackholes
Not much to say today. My leg went into spasm at about 3:30 am. My son was in the kittens' room, which is next to mine, checking on them when it happened. He thought I might like to come and enjoy some of the antics the babies were up to. I think I said something to the effect of turn out the lights and get to bed, but I can't vouch for that since I was writhing around trying to find a position that didn't hurt so much.

It took until late tonight before the spasms settled. I guess I wasn't ready to brave the trains, busses, 3 hours of walking on concrete and climbing stairs I did yesterday, yet. Guess I won't do that again any time soon. I should be out job hunting but I don't think hobbling into a room is a good way to present yourself. Everything happens a certain way for a reason - right?

Got a few hours of housework done, slept and had weird dreams the balance of the time. One about blackholes. I kept writing equations up on a blackboard and they kept being proved correct to my great astonishment. I had no idea what I was writing down. As I was writing I could see the part of the blackhole being explained taking shape outside the glassed enclosure where I was working. I kept telling the people around me not to take my explanations of the properties of a blackhole to heart unless they tested the hypotheses out themselves. Weird.

Next up dreams about the atmospheric conditions here. The past couple of days the temperature here has dropped by 10 degrees C/18 F. Quick estimate tool: water freezes at 0 C/32 F and boils at 100 C/ 212 F Body temp is 37 C/ 98.6 F. Doesn't quite follow does it; the centigrade should be closer to 50 for body temp. That was the dream part. I was trying to reconcile the two systems of measurement. Somehow it was agreed that the lower end of the scale would start at 0 F and end at 100 C. I don't get it, since that eliminates measurement of temps beyond that range, but I guess it's no more arbitrary than deciding that one system of measuring a specific quality(temp) will have no numbers in common with another system measuring the same thing. The reason for the attempt in the dream was that people had stopped being able to regulate their body temperatures in the normal way. Because of the heat and fires those same people were becoming sources of heat themselves radiating high levels as though they were furnaces themselves. Some were even glowing red/green. I think the closeness of Mars is to blame myself - good an explanation as anything else. The other dreams were similar and equally bizarre - don't know what to think.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats