Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:40 p.m. - 2003-04-09
Chit chat
Chinook yesterday made the weather warm and blustery. It also gave me a migraine - don't need to develop my psychic faculties to see auras. Hence no entry last night.

Bumped into the mom who was being laid off from her job of 25 years at the bank last November. She's now working at the main senior's support facility in Calgary helping them with their budgets and fundraising. She seems happy. She kept saying that she thought I had moved and I can't figure out why. I see and talk with her children off and on, when walking past her house at night to get to my home. Nothing has changed at my residence either, except that my fence is badly in need of repair. I'm just about caught up financially from my bout of unemployment, so that's the next priority. My guys have promised to supply the labour. Herding cats will likely be the experience to get them all here on the same day at the same time, but it's worth a try.

My friend still in the Middle East e-mailed last night. She just returned from a few weeks in France where her daughter is attending university. Sounds like she spent most of her time in the museums and shops - that would be fun.

Finally persuaded the woman I tapped for the job of looking after the computers and managing the production center to take it on. She'll have to go to Ottawa for training soon and she's quite excited about that since her travel experience is limited. I hope she finds some time to relax while she's there. She has one more child than me and I know all I wanted to do when I was away from home was to close the door to my room, tune out all the noise and savour the silence.

The realtor has gotten back to me with an offer of yet another site. The drawbacks are that it is all on a second floor and there aren't enough bathrooms for 60 staff. On the plus side it would be easy to get to from anywhere in the constituency, it would be secure and it would be available at need. Have to see how much angst Ottawa shows when they see the proposed rent in addition to the second floor issue - a big no no. I don't know what the rate of inflation has been since the last event but this is a few thousand dollars more. Beats setting up in a parking lot though.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats