Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:52 a.m. - 2003-04-08
Oddities
Kind of a synchronous day in some ways. My knee was really sore this morning and I had forgotten to pack my brace. I went to a drug store new to me at lunch to pick another one up, and came away with some bonuses. They were pre-selling copies of the next Harry Potter book. $40 Canadian a pop for hard cover, with a 10% discount. Really steep, but at least the family will have a copy. They also had a remastered CD of The Animals classics. "Sky Pilot" and "To Love Somebody" gave me the shivers when I was listening to them later in the day.

After work, I went out to dinner with one of my old high school classmates and her son. They're the ones who have a farm south of the city and who supplied us with Miss Kitty. We went to a new place called "Open Sesame". D's treat. Bliss, a combination of Thai, Vietnamese and Chinese cookery and great conversation. We got to talking about our upcoming high school reunion in a couple of weeks. I'm still really uncomfortable about attending. D said she'd come pick me up and we could stay at her parent's home in town - it's just a couple of blocks from the hall. If I'm not comfortable when I arrive at the hall I can just bunk there for the rest of the evening. Well maybe. Her invitation to come visit her on the farm is much more enticing, I love the country around there. Her son is taking urban studies at university, so I promised to bring along some of the documents I collected on urban planning, demographics, and sustainable development while I was volunteering on the transportation committee that set up Calgary's long range plan. Good to see them put to use again.

The work day was a little odd. C was in the library with the door closed again this morning when I arrived. When I opened the daybook I keep at T2s direction, I found that there were checkmarks beside some of the new records I created nearly two months ago. I asked T2 if it would make it easier for her if I just gave her a list of all the new files. She said she hadn't been the one to check off the records in question. OK.

Shortly after I spoke with T2 about the daybook, C returned to the library. There is normally an inventory attached to the lid of each box of data we open. I check off all the existing records against the contents of the box, noting any missing data or extra documents or any other anomalies. C asked where the inventory for a specific box was. She said something to the effect that she hadn't been able to find it. To know that it wasn't in my desk, she would have had to have gone through my drawers and found the file I keep them in. I still have a few inventories at home, with B's knowledge, and the inventory C wanted was among them. I checked it tonight to see what it contained. It includes some of the properties that the company didn't have a record of owning - the ones they were so pleased to hear about.

I'm wondering what authority C has to go through any of the work I've done, especially when it appears that it is without the knowledge of T2 or, probably, B (she was absent today so I couldn't ask her). She does not seem to have a lot of knowledge about the data to begin with, so it wouldn't even make sense from a quality control perspective.

Next odd thing, on my desk I have a pile of material that requires further investigation before it can be put into the database. Some of the material is of a sensitive nature, so I put it on the bottom of that stack. This morning when I came into work it had been moved to another set of records and there were also documents sitting on my desk that had not been there when I left on Friday.

Later in the morning T2 and I spoke of the next phase of work. She looked at a prototype I had done, said she was pleased with the process, directing me to continue on with that. C does not want to work with the data that way, so I'm not certain how that is going to work out.

There's probably a rational explanation for all of the oddities above - I'm hoping someone will let me in on it sometime soon.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats