Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:30 a.m. - 2003-04-11
Style
Fashion on transit. Varies from power suits on both genders,to tie die to gangsta. This morning one woman my age - flourescent lemon yellow socks, white runners, burnt orange skirt, and a wine coloured jacket. If we were discussing an ice cream cone, it might have been intriguing, but it just didn't work first thing in the morning. I'm guessing she probably had a nice blouse or sweater under the jacket that tied the colours together better, but we didn't get to see that. Another woman my age, "I Dream of Jeannie" hairdo, push up bra with a little see through lace hanging from it approximating a blouse;low rider mini skirt, fishnet stocking and heels. Not for work dear and not on a figure that is on the wrong side of sixteen by about three decades. One man in a wheel chair - really sharp suit, cool tie topped off with a crisply creased fedora -- you don't have to be tall to be looked up to, attitude and self-respect are everything.

My Dad called last night - Easter at my youngest sister's home. My responsibility? Cheesecake again. Can't I bring anything else? Nope everyone wants the dessert. I'll bring that, but I think I'd like to try something new too - we'll see.

Dad went on to say that my sister who had had to sell her home when they had lost their business has found a new one. Great neighbourhood, couple of blocks from a school and beautifully landscaped. Biggest bonus, just a couple of blocks from one of the most beautiful river valleys in the city. Good walking. We're going to go and have a look at it this weekend. My sister wants to have our first monthly family picnic of the season in her new digs. It's near her birthday. Cusp Taurus/Gemini - but at least she has only displayed one personality at a time over time - she just changes it every so often, like socks.

Work - I don't know, I've been e-mailing and talking back and forth with A, my supervisor. I think I'm just a bit discouraged. I can't work any faster or harder than I am and I am tired of all the game playing. I know I should just rise above it, and I do that at the worksite by just pretending I don't see or hear much of what's going on. A sure gets an earful though - poor guy. Guess I'd better just shut up and let it go. Talking about doesn't make me feel any better - it just makes me feel frustrated and unsuccessful. I just want to do as good a job as I can and go home at the end of the night. I don't think that is too much to ask.

Sent off my cheque for the school reunion. Still don't know if I'll go, but I know how much it costs to set up something like that so I don't mind contributing even if I don't go. All the organizers' efforts deserve at least that much acknowledgement.

Walked along the river at noon. Geese have arrived for the summer and I could see a nest or two. Babies in about a month. A Dad with a little guy, about three, paddling in a pool in a quiet cut of the riverbank. Obviously the little fellow's first hip waders - he was entranced and having a ball splashing away. Bemused ducks just out of splash range. Hawks overhead and the first rush of snow melt starting to refill the river. Spring.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats