Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:25 a.m. - 2003-03-11
Thinking
I've had this discussion before, but Miss Kitty isn't listening. My bed is my own haven. No sharing - ever. Her attitude is that I'm obviously mistaking her for someone who cares. It could be because it's so cold, that she feels the need to snuggle up, or it could be her way of letting me know how happy she is that I'm playing the stair climbing pounce and release game with her again, I don't know. However, I am slowly getting my point across. I'm a restless sleeper at the best of times - I need to move a lot. The covers fly one way while I go the other. A couple of times, Miss Kitty has found herself buried under a comforter and several blankets. I guess I really don't have to say anything - she'll likely decide it's just not safe soon enough.

Water main breaks all over the city last night, because of the extended deep freezing the past week. After months of alternating cold then temperate weather, that caused the sewers to expand and contract constantly, the pipes just couldn't take any more stressors. Homes had to be evacuated, some businesses has to be closed, and the trains were running at half time, because of the mechanical effects of the water freezing across the switches. I got into work before there was too great an impact, but a lot of people were late today.

Chatted with B about each others' weekends. She was a little disturbed when I mentioned that I had been working for Elections Canada on the weekend. She was astute enough to realize that the preparation is more likely for a referendum regarding the Middle East situation than an imminent election. That won't likely occur until after the leadership race in November. Personally, I also don't believe our Prime Minister would risk our country being so vulnerable given the international situation. During an election, parliament has to be dissolved, leaving us without formal leadership for about two months, while the campaigns play out countrywide. We do have the Governor General, who is the ceremonial head of state representing Queen Elizabeth II, but that is strictly an honorary position.

My thoughts stayed with the internationl issues, while I catalogued the videos B had asked me to audit on the weekend. I was listening to Steve Earle's new CD, Jerusalem, and the words had some pretty eerie overtones. People often ask why a population would tolerate a leader who fixes or subverts elections to ensure that they win. Who ensures family and friends hold positions of power to reinforce and back their actions up, whatever they choose those to be. Who openly subverts money and material resources that are entitlements of the country's population from their own resource base, to pour into military activities and to prop up their own power. Sometimes I'm not certain which leaders' actions are being questioned. Spent a lot of time just thinking and praying today. Being that I've studied as many faith systems as I could find information for, I found I had enough prayers to last me all day without repeating any. No one on this planet will be spared the consequences, if the leaders in question aren't made to stop creating their own version of a snuff movie.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats