Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:53 p.m. - 2003-03-09
Patience Grasshopper
Something wasn't quite right with my e-mail, but I was too tied up with all the dramatics at work to sort it out. Should have, because it probably would have helped me find my balance sooner. One of the things I do for myself to stay positive and focussed on the future is to read upbeat, uplifting, or funny material every day. I've subscribed to a number of e-publications to meet that goal. They provide a high level of emotional satisfaction without having to dig through layers of other material to get to it. One of my major sources has been the www.shagmail.com consortium because they are eclectic and well balanced. I don't necessarily agree with everything they send out, but I want my sacred cows challenged too. Stop thinking things through and your brain starts to crystallize and crust over - yuck. Their newsletters weren't showing up for a while, but I thought it was just one of those "server" issues. Turns out their material was being blocked as spam by a lot of services. Perhaps their willingness to address issues of controversy was seen as too threatening. Free exchange of ideas is one of the best features of the internet, although there is equally great danger if people don't apply their own critical thinking skills to what they read. Anyway, they're back and I'm feeling much better for the exchange.

Spent time with my Dad today out looking for office space in case Elections Canada decides we need to get into action any time soon. I was feeling a bit guilty about asking him because it is still bitterly cold, but he seemed to want to spend some time out today. I always enjoy the conversations we have and there's always something new to learn. Talked about what I had observed at work and some of my concerns. Something I said worried him, but it had to do with an area I wouldn't have given any thought to. I guess I'll have to wait to see if he'll feel comfortable enough to explain at another time. It appears, from our travels today, that one particular realtor is handling an awful lot of the rental property available in this constituency. That may be to my benefit in the long run. I still haven't received the binder of instructions I need to complete this assignment, but I'm hoping the specs for the office can just be given to one of their agents. If they can narrow down the properties that fit for me, that will save me an awful lot of running around such as I had to do last time when it seemed every property was listed with a different realtor.

Heard from one of number three son's friends today. He lives one province away, but keeps in touch on a regular basis. Sounds likes he's ready for some change in his life and I think that's to the good. Sent him some of the websites that post particular types of jobs and career options to help out. Got an e-mail just after that from the one friend returning from the Middle East. They'll be landing in Calgary tonight - hurray! She asked if I could forward some of the same work websites to her daughter, who is just finishing university in Eastern Canada, as well as herself. A lot of people moving from one very distinct phase of life to a new one. I've been feeling that that is in the cards for me too, but I'm not certain what form it will take. I think doing all that internal processing of experiences while I wasn't working opened the way for that to occur. It is manifesting - slowly - in the outer appearance of my home and my body. Trying to "slim down" and incrase efficiency in both arenas. Guess I'll just need to be a bit more patient. I hate being patient.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats