Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:17 a.m. - 2003-03-12
Wellness
Went to see my chiropractor today. He had spent the weekend in a seminar and was eager to try some new techniques with me. The focus of some of the work was on the lower back. Given that I've carried and delivered six bouncing baby boys, that is an area that could use some extra attention. I haven't felt properly aligned there since the last delivery - 15 years ago. Although a lot of what he did didn't seem much of a departure from his normal spinal manipulations, it did have a profound effect on me during the afternoon. I should have gone to my belly dance class tonight, but my body was making it very clear that it needed to go home and rest in order to adjust to the changes that were initiated in that session.

Before I left the mall I picked up some medicinal patches at the Chinese herbal store situated across from my chiropractor. When number three son's friend had called from Vancouver a couple of days ago, we had spent a lot of time talking about health issues. He often calls me when he isn't feeling well. I think he likes to gather a lot of ideas on how to handle an issue then chooses what works best for him. I think that's a smart thing to do. During the conversation, he had mentioned he uses these patches after his workouts at the gym - very nicely cut, I believe is the term these days - when he has over taxed his muscles. I tried them out when I got home tonight, both for the knee that had been a problem - it's still stiff - and to help with the discomfort where the muscles are readjusting from the doctor's work. I placed them over key accupressure points along a meridian on the left side of my body and they really worked well. The pain and the stiffness are gone. The enclosure says they can be left on for 2 or three days (I expect that means they don't wash off in the shower) so we'll see how that works.

Met one of the Moms I really enjoy talking with on the bus home. Each of her three children, independent of each other, met one of my sons of the same age at school and became friends. That is kind of unusual. I've never expected my children to form relationships with my friends' children based on my friendship with their Mom, nor have I expected the boys to make friends with their brothers' friends' siblings. I think affinity between individuals is very personal. I don't think it is appropriate or fair to force someone else into a relationship because it is convenient, or because one thinks "one size fits all". It doesn't respect an individual's uniqueness.

Anyway, this Mom is also a single parent who has had to make a go of it completely on her own. I hadn't known, but she was off work the same time as me for similar reasons - slowdown at the workplace and health that was cratering from too much stress for too long a time. Neither of us has taken any time off work or off parenting since we became single Moms. Our bodies were paying us back for the neglect and abuse. She looks and says she feels better now. We caught up on family news, traded coping strategies (the blind leading the blind I think) and talked about sharing some lunch hours. Hopefully that will work out.

Sort of a wellness day I guess.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats