Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:04 - 12/22/2009
Solstice
Happy Solstice everyone!

When I glanced down at my weather icon a couple of weeks, or so, ago, there was a storm warning flashing. Given the unexpected, but totally disasterous, snowstorms the two weekends before, I decided the errands I needed to run outdoors that I had put off, might best be completed sooner than later, since this storm was actually being announced prior to it hitting the city. Big bad storm. One errand had to do with finishing a work assignment and one was to pick up essential household items - you know, like food. Very good choice. I went out around dinner time.

The storm blew in next morning, not long after my youngest left for work at the airport. End of his shift he called to let me know that all the busses had stopped running. He waited close to three hours for a cab ride home and considered himself lucky. The airport had offered staff chits for two meals if they opted to stay overnight. That was a smart move on their part. Next day the roads were so full of snow that very few busses ran anywhere in the city; no relying on the trains either since they were freezing to the tracks. My youngest called in to let his boss know he wouldn't be able to get back to work that day. Ended up well over 100 employees missed their shift that Saturday. The snow was so deep that it covered vehicles and essential items like fire hydrants. Two communities north of us was so deeply buried that the residents were stranded in their homes with no way out for five entire days. That's when the city finally sent snow plows to dig out the roads and the busses that had had to be abandoned on that first night.

I had a quality assurance assignment at the airport a few days after the storm hit. The bus driver was excellent, but it was obvious snow plows hadn't been over that route. Sheer sheet ice dropping off into ditches. Put my headphones on and started praying for that bus driver. Some of the turns were nearly 90 degrees, but she still managed to hold the bus to the road. She didn't look as though it bothered her that much, but I guess that the level of concentration required meant that she wouldn't be able to feel fear until after her shift. Not as easy for the rest of us though. At one point I even saw Santa walking along the road. Guess his sleigh broke down or got stuck, eh?

Headed off downtown after that assignment to pick up some tickets to a dinner show that I had redeemed for quite a lot of loyalty points from one of my accounts. I love loyalty programs. The receptionist sort of threw them at me after making me sign a release form. Bad day maybe? Realized when I got home what her problem might have been. The tickets for four were supposed to be good until February according to the initial information given. When I checked those tickets to find out exactly what they covered, turned out that they were for a specific date - one that had already passed. Uh huh. Given that there were five sets given out, I suspect that perhaps the receptionist had been on the receiving end of other winners' anger about the change in the prize. I waited a few days to cool down then emailed both the donor of the prize package as well as the loyalty program to register my disappointment. I asked for the return of the loyalty points to my account. I received three emails in return all directing me to contact someone else. Finally connected with the correct person. He apologized profusely and said he would double the points that had been subtracted and add them back to my account. Couldn't ask for much more, I guess. Luckily I hadn't told anyone about winning them, because I couldn't decide how to share them until I knew what the ticket provided for the holder. Maybe there will be a better fit in prizes coming up that I wouldn't have been able to take if this prize had worked out. Always look for the silver lining.

Another loyalty points program having similar logistical issues, I think. Used my points to order a souvenir Olympics stuffy late in November. I thought it might make a good gift for one of my grandbabies - maybe the one about to be born. Waited three weeks, checking occasionally to see if everything was progressing. It was, until today, when my account still showed the points deducted, but the delivery of the toy not only cancelled, but removed from my account records completely. I emailed their help center right away. One has to purchase a fair amount of the product - which we would do anyway - in order to accummulate enough points to "buy" their rewards. I would like those points reinstated if there is a shortage of that particular toy. That said, loyalty programs give one small treats unaffordable otherwise, all just for a few minutes on a computer each week. I love loyalty programs

One of my extra bonuses for travelling downtown was meeting the Very Reverend Bill Phipps on my way to pick up those tickets. He was handing out information leaflets about the Copenhagen summit to passers-by just outside the legislature building. He said he was fasting and praying for the leaders at that meeting, so that they would make good choices for the future - inviting local citizens to become involved. That is a tough sell in this city - headquarters of most of the active oil and gas companies in Canada. Reverend Phipps had a lot of courage even being on that corner given that local residents insist that the rest of the world is picking on "us" unfairly. They are outraged at the criticisms. Even having the global damage/impact caused by the tar sands reflected back to this province from everywhere else in the world doesn't seem to register with those who feel that their exorbitant incomes and privileges are more important than the future left for their children and grandchildren. Yes, the economy of any region is a precious resource to be cherished and protected, but not when it literally causes the deaths of the living beings near the source of their wealth as well as the centuries long devastation to the water, land and air of that region.

On my way home from picking up those tickets, I met one of the people I enjoyed working with at the inventory company. Lots of news there. Two managers were let go at the same time I was told that my insistence on meeting our labour code's minimum standards made me too much trouble to keep on payroll. I wonder if they had the audacity to speak up as well. I suspect so. Most of the Canadian born workers I interacted with have also been shown the door. One of the regional managers has stepped down and the office manager has moved out of the office - something she had wanted to do for a long time to avoid all the nasty politics.

Of the visa workers, one of the supervisors also quit. A+ and I met him when we were searching for something in the local mall. He said he had told the area manager that they didn't know what they were doing and he refused to work under the conditions they were demanding he accept as well. He said most of the visa workers were being reviewed for whether they would be allowed to extend their contracts, but that is up in the air too. Given how many client contracts there are set to be filled in the first three months of next year, one has to wonder how they will be able to meet their obligations. Probably complain to our government that "they can't find workers", even though the truth is there are a lot of people who enjoy the work - me included - but who are not willing to work under third world conditions or wages, based on cost of living, of course. Sigh.

The strange twists of the day didn't end there either, dear diary. I started to file my on-line reports for my assignment around the midnight hour. Around 2 in the am, banging started on the doors, walls and windows on the other side of my duplex. Not only did it last a long time, but it got louder and more forceful as time passed. That could have been, I speculated to myself, because the ambient air temperature was in the -30C range. Despite the frigid temperature, the knocker kept it up, obviously very determined to get inside that home. I could hear people inside the house talking about what they should do. They were all huddled in the half bath that would have been a good hiding place if their visitor wasn't friendly. Given past experiences with those neighbours I was reluctant to get involved, but the banging was increasing yet again in volume and force, so I looked out my front window to try and figure out what was going on.

Oi. Not only was there at least one person knocking, but two very fit and tall men were standing right on the edge of the property arms crossed, watching the knocker(s). Behind them was a dark vehicle with its lights on and the motor running. Given the type of renters the man who owns that side of the property seems to choose and from past problems I have posted to you about dealing with their activities, I began to wonder if this wasn't a drug deal gone bad. Maybe the people outside either wanted their purchase or the money. Either way I was worried enough that I called the police hoping for some help from them.

The constable took my information, then directed me to stay on the line with her. The sense I got was that she had checked some records - probably by house address - and deemed it dangerous. She asked me to stand near my window so that I could relate to her what was happening. I told her I really wasn't fussy about being seen by the men outside in case they decided that my involvement invited violence or vandalism directed toward my home or myself. Not long after, a second car - three something in the am now - entered the street and slowly inched toward the first set of people. Those people got back into that car and then they started backing slowly away from the second car. The snow was so deep on the road that it prevented any stunt driving anyway. The constable asked me if I could identify the car that had just arrived. It took a few minutes to see it close enough to tell, but it turned out to be a police cruiser.

As the constable and I were talking, my call waiting feature started beeping. Who was calling me at that time in the mornig? I didn't check it, because the constable had told me to stay on the line with her. As I watched the vehicular ballet out front the two vehicles slowly approached each other. When the two drivers' windows were close together, I could see the drivers open them enough for a very brief exchange of words. The first car then drove away. The constable on the other end of the phone was satuisfied that things were ok and said goodnight. Curious, I hung up then checked my voicemail. Left me a little rattled when it turned out the caller was one of the men who had been standing outside my home when the knocking began. Turned out that those who were doing the knocking were plain clothes police. The caller identified himself only as part of the police force and told me I needn't worry about their actions. Easy for him to say. And why was it that the constable who had answered my phone call wasn't advised that those plain clothes police were the "suspicious individuals". Would have saved all of us a lot of time and stress.

I did spend a fair amount of time that week sending out resumes on those many days when the temperature was in the -30's C. There was little chance of travelling anywhere because of the amount of snow burying us in our homes, so it made sense to be productive from within the house. Maybe something will click soon. Sigh too. If misery loves company then the one thing helping me to keep trying is that all those other co-workers who were surplussed, as well as my one son who is looking for a second job, are all encountering the same response - no real jobs available. The lack of real employment and things political have caused me some periods of profound depression the past few weeks. That has been exacerbated by things societal and seasonal too. I try to keep finding little glimmers of hope though. Looking for when people choose to do the right thing rather than what is easiest or popular. They are out there. I've been surfing your old posts too dear diary, trying to find out what I did wrong or what I could have done better. I'm not certain I would have changed much, because I was acting on the direction of my conscience. That is comforting in an odd sort of way, even though the consequences have been dire at times. Watching seasonal programs/movies and listening to music have been my other coping strategies; all apologies to Bono, Ms Etta and Pavarotti et al for singing along.

Last week was busy with birthdays - two sons and A+ too, plus many friends and extended family. Sagittarians fill my life in a very happy way. A lot of emails and phone calls to those birthday boys and girls. Spent time with each of my main men, while trying to fit in a number of other tasks that had got left undone when our cat, Mr. Mel, took sick again the week before. I finished off the data entry for my Dad's tube list. Thousands of tubes. With the house emptied of all those dead appliances a whole range of reorganization and refurbishment tasks - like washing walls and moving art work around - to make the house more comfortable to live in. For example, I could finally use the cabinet my Dad had made for me out of an old oak TV console frame to display some of the china that my one friend had given me when she was recycling some of her and her Mom's treasures a few years ago. I don't have a china cabinet in the conventional sense, but that cabinet my Dad made is quite beautiful. There's still a lot of china and collectibles that remain stored away now, due to lack of space, but the display of what is in that cabinet is quite pretty. I don't have a lot of pretty in my home, so it is especially pleasing to me.

Talked with the one friend who wanted me to help him with the social websites. Turns out he had to have surgery unexpectedly, so we will have to wait until the New Year to complete that activity. Reconnection with a lot of friends who I haven't communicated with for a long time. One of the great things about Christmas is that chance to reopen channels that have been blocked, not through any other reason other than life happening to each person, so that the connection becomes weak.

Spent a day with my Dad and his new partner when I delivered that completed tube list as well. Very nice visit with lunch into the bargain; one sister arriving for that and then heading off for other errands. I spent a lot of the visit helping his partner with her computer. She needed help again accessing her email account as well as finding some links to information she needed with respect to finance and government services. Promised to do more research on those topics that night, as well, and sent her more links once I got home. She also had a new printer to set up and install, so her cat, Ollie, and I spent some time under the desk; me using a flashlight to search for ports and such.

One of my Dad's partner's daughters seems to cull her wardrobe a couple of times a year, so I also came home with some new-to-me clothes at the end of the day. I'm now fitting back into size A pantyhose and the sizes of the clothes I wear has dropped again too - yay! If I can get my act together enough to incorporate more yoga and stair climbing into each day, I might even be back close to my "real" size, when I was slender some day. I have so many things to be grateful this year - the improvement in my health and the subsequent improvement in my appearance, as well, being especially welcome. I'm also very grateful for the way my relationships with A+ and my sons and father have grown. Not having full time permanent work is very distressing to me for certain, but the benefits I have experienced or gained by having that time to instead rebuild my home, body and relationships, as well as learn new skills, have given me great joy.

I've spent a couple of other days as well at the airport doing more quality assurance assignments. Life goes on despite the weather - dangerous as it might be. A lot of local people already on crutches you see. The last assignment, A+ joined me afterward to spend some time just sight-seeing in the facility. While I was carrying out tasks prior to meeting him, I noticed a lot of people sleeping on the benches in the post customs area where my assignment was situated. This last weekend so many flights were delayed or cancelled that it was almost like a giant sleep-over in some ways. Didn't stop me wishing that my security pass would allow me to board a flight to one of the destinations flashing across the departures screen. London, Frankfurt, Maui, Los Angeles, Houston - places that are supposed to be warm even though this week they aren't. While I was going through screening there was a security expert very distressed about some breach of secure conditions nearby. Taking photos he was, of something he said he didn't want passengers to see. Hmmmm. Apparently the breach had been noted the day before by his bosses - the ones from head office. I couldn't see anything untoward, but then again, I don't know that much about facility security requirements for airports anyway. The legislation changes too often for me to keep up.

Let go of both the concern and curiousity and headed off to meet A+. We had a great afternoon. Grabbed a quick lunch then poked around in the science centre. Great exhibits - except for the case of the missing Pluto in the solar system display. We also strolled through the shops lining the "streets" between different customs gates. There are actually more than a hundred shops and services lining those alley ways. In the post screening areas there are even more, but of course, we didn't have access to those. We chatted abut things seasonal and political as we strolled along, while snapping photos of the art and decorations. Headed off home just before the next gout of snow hit.

Time for bed now though. Sleep well.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats