Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

14:39 - 03.12.08
Playing
Lemons. Or at least lemon juice. I finally found some after a month of searching. In August, there was an article in our newspaper about a projected shortage due to weird weather conditions, but I really didn't think about it until I lost my voice during that bout of flu last month. Hot lemon and honey work as well as any medicinal preparation with no side effects. I mentioned my problem to one of the grocery managers I had to deal with a few weeks ago. She acknowledged that since summer it had been impossible to keep a supply on their shelves. When I returned to her store this past week, there were finally the small squeezable lemon-shaped containers available for shoppers. I bought three. You see with Christmas music playing everywhere and being sung by various co-workers and friends - especially A+, I want to sing along too. I need my voice working so I can sing along with Luciano and that cd of traditional Christmas songs that I love so much. I can't sing opera, but I can sing Christmas carols. It wasn't possible until I used that secret remedy last night.

I don't need to do the stair climbing to go along with the singing anymore, since my work is so physical. Since I started last May, the pile of clothes I can give away as I've lost weight has become quite substantial - yay! For example, the lined winter walking pants that I wore last year are belted. I've had to cinch that belt up by three inches. It helps that I've been working without breaks this past month (other than that flu. No time to gain any weight, since not much eating is really in the time budgetted during the day. Discussing politics/global issues is what we do in breaks and after work, especially given the bizarre twists in parliament this week, for example. Coffee after work last night to discuss the alternatives to a party-based political system with my supervisor/mentor and his mentor was much more interesting than food, you see. My metabolism has changed as a result. So much so that I'm not certain what the body is planning next. Good thing I like change, eh?

The cats were very pleased when I finally started singing for them again last night. When I play on Youtube they get to dance with me too. Well, yes. When my sons were toddlers I would sing and dance with them by letting them perch on my hips while I stepped out. They thought it was great fun and would laugh throughout my exercise period. Better than tripping over them anyway. Now it is Mr Melchizedek and Ms Kitty who do the honours. Mr Mel prefers do-wop and real gospel/blues, thank you very much; the music (mmmmmmmmmm) my parents played at home. Ms Kitty is a bit more contemporary in her tastes. My youngest walked in last night while I was shimmying, with Kitty dancing around by my feet and was quite amused. Well, at least I do no harm.

This is my first day off without sickness for a while, so I need to try and get some practical things done too - like grocery shopping. Out in the cold weather. Oh well. Talk with you later dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats