Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02:08 - 17.03.08
Birthday!
Number two son came by to pick me up mid-afternoon today. The original plan had been to go out somewhere like a park to celebrate my youngest grand-daughter's birthday but an overnight snowfall and much cooler temperatures today made that less than attractive. When he arrived he grabbed my snow shovel and cleared off the walkways while I was still fussing with wrapping the one gift. Don't know what was wrong with me but I don't think I could have organized myself out of a paper bag today. I was all thumbs with the tape and wrapping paper so my son helped with that too. He cheerfully stopped at the grocery store so I could pick up the month's supply of cat products or products for cats whatever. Saves me hauling the bags home one by one, you see.

The changed plan was just to cocoon at their home playing with my granddaughter. All good to me since I don't get to spend nearly enough time with any of them. My grand-daughter knew about wrapping and what to do with it. Ripped all that hard work off the box in no time, she did. She started playing with the toy inside as soon as she caught sight of it. It is a child size globe with a joystick that allows the child to "fly" to different parts of the world. There are four chocies of learning programs that one can choose so that when the airplane hovers overs specific countries the recordings provide information on a variety of topics such as language and culture. It didn't take her very long to figure out how to make all the buttons, pointers and joy stick work together. She is so smart.

We all headed downstairs next to see the videotape of her photo on one of the birthday features on one of the local programs. She didn't win the cake for the day but I doubt she really cared either. Playdoh came out from it's containers as her Dad and I provided support while she played to her heart's content. There was a keyboard sitting in a corner so I showed her how to play chopsticks as well. She brought out her new tea set and served up beverages while we watched some of her favorite tlelvision shows being it was her birthday after all. I showed my son my facebook page and then the different alumni groups from schools he had attended. Found some of his friends there too. Showed young miss what her Dad looked like when he was her age. One could see her puzzlement. How could that little boy be her Dad?

At that point my daughter-in-law joined us to say that dinner was just about ready. We were listening to some of the youtube videos of Ernie and Bert, the Muppet show and such, at the time. Dinner was delicious of course - my daughter-in-law is a great cook. She said she was a bit nervous because she had just baked her first cake ever - the one she presented to my granddaughter after we ate. It turned out very well. Last task of the day was bath time for young miss. She loves water but wasn't fussed about indulging in a bedtime ritual just yet. She still had a lot of "play" left in her you see. However, she has to go to daycare early in the morning while my son and daughter-in-law attend their workplaces tomorrow. Even birthdays don't last forever do they? Slipped out while my daughter-in-law was washing my granddaughter's hair. My son drove me home and the sun was still shining at that. And that's my story for today dear diary. Good night.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats