Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

04:48 - 16.03.08
Jericho
Thank goodness for loyalty point programs. It is my youngest grand-daughter's birthday today. If it wasn't for those points, there would be no way that I could have managed to provide a gift for her. Set aside one for my youngest grandson too - the one about to become the proud owner of a baby sister. He might need diverting, I think. I also was able to book delivery of one of the local newspapers through the same program. Almost out of points - so long trip to Egypt, I think - but the newspaper has help wanted ads too. That's more important at this point in time. I am watching world events closely, but there is a feeling similar to that when we watched the fall of the Berlin wall and the end of apartheid in South Africa years ago right now. That same sort of potential transformation shimmering just out of reach of one. Will it conclude like Jericho's walls coming tumbling down or will another chapter in the Tianamen Square follow. How does that butterfly's wing have to move to shift the reality to hope. The butterfly effect in chaos theory keeps presenting itself to me in different guises for consideration when I am looking for background and back stories with respect to what is happening globally now. With respect to the job hunt and the continued detrioration of the finances mixed in with that same butterfly effect, there was one male who offered to help me find some interim financing, but then the question becomes why is he doing it? It isn't anyone I know, but his name was recommended by one of the banks to which I owe money. I realize for that creditor it means they get their cash, but why would this fellow help me? I guess all the years of learning not to trust anyone have left me very cynical. However, that's the only reason I've survived long enough to raise my six sons to manhood. Poor things. When it feels as though one's back is to the wall, one can't afford even one misstep. I am questioning everything that happens in my environment right now as a result. However, in quantum physics the presence, intention and attitude - positive or negative - of the observer are major influences on outcomes. One needs to be in a position of positivity without being foolish about it either. Maybe. Makes me crazy.

Number two son called to let me know that he, his partner and my granddaughter would be by today for a birthday visit. At one point I was talking with "little miss" about her day at the playschool. I used some of the Cantonese I know to ask a question then suddenly heard a barrage of that language aimed back at me by said toddler. Oh no, how am I going to catch up to her language skills so she doesn't finesse me when she realizes she has that secret weapon. There is a new program on the children's channel - remember I don't have cable connections anymore - that teaches Mandarin, but that is an almost entirely different language to Cantonese. Have to find a free program on-line, I guess. That issue was brought up by one of my e-friends today too. She sent me some French text and asked if I wanted her to continue doing so since my primary language is English. Mais oui, certainment. I have enough schooling in la belle langue to be able to understand all but the most technical or senior university level discourse. It is composing or speaking that foxes me, because I'm not all that certain that my grammar skills are up to the level I need to express myself clearly. Maybe the extra reading in that language sent by someone who can judge the quality of what is presented is a good way to build some grammatical muscle of my own. We'll see.

Number five son called at the end of his work day. He helped me with my connectivity problems a bit, then talked with my youngest about applying for work in the company that he is with. The company is looking for people with the skills that he has acquired over the past two years. That improved the mood of my youngest considerably. He feels the credit sales that the company he has been working for facilitate problem gamblers, by allowing them to hide and increase their debt while feeding their addiction. He also feels the product has the potential to leave the travellers it is being marketed to at risk if anything goes wrong during their journey. There is a 45 day wait between when a problem occurs and when it is rectified. Try waiting in Timbucktu without funds or access to any other resources for six weeks. How is that the kind of service that is best for you? The problem is is that information isn't offered unless requested by the purchaser. Who would even think to ask that? My youngest has been ordered to promote that product to the two target audiences and feels as though he is being fraudulent with respect to the customers. He doesn't want anything to do with it. Time to move on.

The entire day was taken up with providing support while my youngest continued to clean, strip back and reorganize his room. When he pulled up the carpet that is a quarter of a century old - older than him - we both started having some serious breathing issues. Good thing I had anti-hsitamines and other products available to help us regain some control over our lungs. He tossed the carpet out under the deck, so that helped clear the air somewhat. Showers washed off some of the offending dust as well. Ran some laundry to get rid of some of the rest of the grit, then started working on the bedroom in the front part of the basement where my oldest stays when he needs to. Space created in one part of the house allows the next layer of clutter to be addressed you see. Just stacking boxes and such, but it looks better already. Opened windows and doors a bit even though it is snowing lightly right now. That need for fresh air being more pressing than the need to be warm. One can always put on socks if necessary.

Anyway time for bed. I'll need enough energy to play with my grand-daughter in a few hours. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats