Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

03:09 - 10.02.08
Pending
I'm still waiting, dear diary. The weatherman promised a warm front coming in just after midnight tonight. He even talked about someone having taken photos of robins just south of the city. That means spring, y'all. Still not here though. The weather map shows -24 C, with that bitter wind blowing making it feel closer to -40 C. Bleagh. I hate wearing socks. Several house fires and problems with heating systems being reported across the city as a result. Any defects tend to show up when the very cold conditions put such a great strain on the mechanical systems, you see.

While I've been waiting I worked with the one yoga tape I had to give up for a while, because there was too much emphasis on the shoulders and arms. I thought that maybe that gibbled elbow might be strong enough to support my weight again, now that I've used one of the other tapes for a while. Seems ok. Managed to work into a king cobra asana, although my feet don't quite touch my head yet. Close though. The cats were quite annoyed with me and kept trying to knock me over. Guess they like the chanting in the other tape better. Or maybe they just want me to crawl into bed so they can cuddle up for the night.

Today my youngest and I discussed that interview from yesterday. The number of interviews where there has been odd behaviour the past few months aren't just my imagination. The agents sending me out to them have all been as puzzled by them as I have. I keep thinking of the conversation I had last September with the one election worker who also worked with me in the downtown assignments. He had said he had been making applications in that industry for over a year at that point in time with no response and felt maybe he had been blackballed - auditors aren't all that welcome, of course. The agents have all noted that the senior managers/CEOs must appreciate the work we do because of the money and reputations we've saved as a result of our assessments, but that doesn't seem to be any protection from retaliation from the managers who are responsible for hiring staff. At the same time, it seems rather silly to think that people are that threatened by my presence. I don't have any authority other than to do the tasks assigned. Their bosses make the decisions on what is done with the results. Their supervisors will find other ways to assess their data even if not through me or someone like me. That is their legal responsibility to their stockholders and boards of directors after all. My youngest thinks maybe I'm just being paranoid and I would prefer to believe that he's right. Hard to believe one can be punished for protecting a company's assets, but stranger things do happen. You know, like the staff causing the problems being promoted. I can't do anything about that, but it really does make me wonder ......

Spent some time playing on youtube and Facebook as well today. One of the things I don't like about the extra applications is that sometimes they force social networking even when one doesn't want that aspect of the service. I don't want to send a message to the people in my "friends" group asking them to compare results or try the same surveys/tests as me. Even when one clicks on "skip" for that step, sometimes the communication is sent out anyway. I think the "walls" applications are especially bad for that. Maybe I'll just stop using them. Grumble. Anyway I guess I'd better go get some sleep so I can enjoy the warmer weather - when it finally arrives. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats