Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:55 - 30.09.07
Abstention
That cold I mentioned was moving down into my lungs, despite my best efforts yesterday, so guerilla tactics to stop the progress had to be employed. Mostly that meant sleeping from the time I arrived home and most of today, mixed in with as much vitamin C and fluids as my system could handle. The flu bug my grand-daughter was immunized for was also operating in my system, so my body was purging itself thoroughly via all exits. Bleagh.

The reason it became imperative to get the bugs under control was that I had a follow up call from the placement agency. Could I meet with a client that day? Friday? Only if I could bring my grand-daughter and attend that interview in my granny/nanny clothes. Definitely not a professional appearance. The result was that the interview is now slotted for early Monday. Have to be healthy looking by that time, no hacking cough and no greyish pallor to the skin please. When my one friend arrived to pick my grand-daughter and I up the other day, the first words out of her mouth were comments about her health care struggles, as well as asking if I was suffering from the same generational issues. Not, but I explained about the ones I have had to cope with. Now this is from a person who is a lawyer and who has a drop-dead gorgeous figure and the clothes to emphasize that. She doesn't need to worry about potential clients deeming her "too old" to be competent enough to represent them. That ageism thang. Statistically, it has been demonstrated that that is an issue in the employment/labour market. My one son, who is taking some financial courses, said that their class was that told older workers are avoided when it comes to being offered permanent employee status, because insurance companies will only allow a certain number per company with respect to group coverage. Now in this country that is illegal, given our human rights act - to discriminate based on age -, but it would be very difficult for an individual to prove that as the reason they weren't offered a job. My friend's comments seemed to indicate that even someone like her had experienced some form of silent discrimination. One of the things that it is illegal to ask in a job interview is one's age or family status - that is the reason I guess. Looking healthy and moderately up-to-date in terms of wardrobe are two ways of reducing the chance that one will be passed over for a position. Sigh. Too bad one wasn't judged on skills and experience instead, eh?

My grand-daughter was in a much better frame of mind on Friday. In fact going down for a nap became a bit of an issue. She wanted to make up for lost playtime when she was sick earlier in the week. She also had enough energy to be quite mischievious too. Meant grandmama got no breaks to rest - hence the worsening of the virus' effect on my body. Breathing was a real issue last night. Today my youngest was working, but commented that he had had difficulty breathing each time he stepped outside the office. The particulate matter that was in the air must have been considerable, because it usually isn't a problem for him. It was reassuring, in a way, to know that the infection I thought I was dealing with wasn't as severe as it was presenting. On the other hand the high level of pollutants didn't help my body gain any sort of control over the viruses either.

I did manage to catch up on correspondence that had to be left while I slept yesterday. The staff member who had received the nasty letter fron Elections Canada/Revenue Canada responded, after I had sent her as much of the details as I could recall, stating that she had made some progress dealing with the issue. Good thing. The pay period that she is facing a penalty for was after she collapsed. I know that there was no wage issued for that time for her either. Her earnings shouldn't be an issue at all, but then remember what Elections Canada reported to Revenue Canada about me - that I was on retainer when I wasn't. In fact no Returning Officer that I know of is, or has been, on retainer to EC. We all were paid by the hours worked and that were approved for billing after the fact by head office. As it stands, they still owe me money, but I'm not holding my breath about being paid. I noticed that there was a posting of another local Returning Officer's riding as empty. I'm not surprised. The person in question doesn't need to work and probably finally had enough, even after only a year of being in their employ. I also sent a list of websites to the one friend who is being surplussed, with further connections to more basic services such as "how to write a resume" and "how to survive the stress of a an interview". As I was working away on those and a few other communications, I finally started playing my CDs again. Haven't really done that since the end of that last contract in the downtown core. There was an emotional block to that. I guess I can now celebrate the fact that I'm done with those issues.

The big issue right now in the news seems to be the uprising in Burma/Myanmar.


This letter just arrived in my inbox from one of the astrologers I really admire, with a request to post it where it might reach more people.
"Personal message from Georgia"

Hello dear readers,

Today I received an e-mail from Shirley Blair, who runs the school in Nepal for which my website raises money. The e-mail is from a monk who details tragic news from Myanmar.

It is almost impossible for information to get out of the country. I am sending you this message in the hopes that someone can help get this news into the media. (I have already sent this e-mail to the papers and magazines I deal with.)

Sincerely,

Georgia

From: "S Blair"

To: "S Blair"

Subject: Fwd: Some Fact from Yangoon

Friends, This just came from a monk friend in Nepal. sb

From: Tashi Wangchuk Date: 28 Sep 2007 10:44 Subject: Some Fact from Yangoon

We just got phone call with our sister living in Yangon about a few hours ago.

We saw on BBC world, saying that 200 monks were arrested. The true picture is far worse!!!!!!!!!

For one instance, the monastery at an obscure neighborhood of Yangon, called Ngwe Kyar Yan (on Wei-za-yan-tar Road, Yangon) had been raided early this morning.

A troop of lone-tein (riot police comprised of paid thugs) protected by the military trucks, raided the monastery with 200 studying monks. They systematically ordered all the monks to line up and banged and crushed each one's head against the brick wall of the monastery. One by one, the peaceful, non resisting monks, fell to the ground, screaming in pain. Then, they tore off the red robes and threw them all in the military trucks (like rice bags) and took the bodies away.

The head monk of the monastery, was tied up in the middle of the monastery, tortured , bludgeoned, and later died the same day, today. Tens of thousands of people gathered outside the monastery, warded off by troops with bayoneted rifles, unable to help their helpless monks being slaughtered inside the monastery. Their every try to forge ahead was met with the bayonets.

When all is done, only 10 out of 200 remained alive, hiding in the monastery. Blood stained everywhere on the walls and floors of the monastery.

Please tell your audience of the full extent of the fate of the monks please please !!!!!!!!!!!!

'Arrested' is not enough expression. They have been bludgeoned to death !!!!!!

Aye Aye Hong Kong
--
Tashi Wangchuk P.o Box 1287 Kathmandu. NEPAL

Copyright � 2003-2007 Georgia Nicols. All Rights Reserved.
.

I guess I'm not the only one who has wondered why the powerful Asian nations that always seem to be complaining that their leadership in the region isn't respected by the "West" are now either silent or in active denial of the disgraceful behaviour of the ruling junta. If they don't speak up, then either the "West" must or another genocidal blood bath will be the result. As it is, it is shameful that the western nations have been silent when a duly elected head of state had been incarcerated and abused by said junta. What would be the reaction if US President George Bush or Canadian Prime Minister Stephen Harper were treated in the same manner by elements of our military. Um well yes, but it is no different - unless one is racist enough to deem some nations less worthy of being respected as democratic entities. Would the world stand by if Chancellor Angela Merkel were deposed and incarcerated by the German army?? Ditto for the bilateral agreement betwen the Turks and the Iraqis with respect to dealing with the Kurds. When did a treaty between two nations to formalise plans of genocide of a specific ethnic minority become a legal or acceptable response to a cultural clash. What about the endless fighting between Sunnis and Shi'ites, or the persecution of the Baha'i and Amadhis. Right, those people are semites, so it doesn't matter if intra-racial hatreds result in genocide. Where is the leadership of the surrounding and powerful Middle Eastern nations that are their genetic brothers and neighbours.

Um yes, my breathing seems to have become a bit laboured as I key those rhetorical questions, so I guess it means I need to nap again. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats