Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

04:06 - 17.05.07
Emotions
A little earlier this morning I was checking up on the latest news from JK Rowling's site - just over two months to the release of Deathly Hallows after all. I was scrolling through the gallery of photos from the latest movie and watching the latest trailer for Order of the Phoenix when an almighty howling and yowling erupted - inside my house. Under my bed they were, as well as out on the deck onto which one steps to go outside. I didn't think I was slipping into a parallel dimension - not exactly - but given the context my mind was in at that moment, the unexpected eruption of feline outrage put me in a very strange head space. JKR has stated that cats play a major role in her final Harry Potter book, so I was half wondering if my cats were chanelling part of that storyline. Magical thinking - yes although not in the usual sense. Eerie enough to hear cats giving that warning screech as it is in normal conditions, it was doubly so in the middle of the night in the middle of a reverie. I was thankful that at least I wasn't deep in the "zone" with a Stephen King novel. His work scares me. Anyway I went to try and determine what had my babies so het up. They were all clustered by the balcony doors. They were at that point of frenzy where sometimes they'll turn on each other if their source of provocation can't be removed. I called my youngest as a precaution, then set to separating and dispersing said felines. My youngest, having the better eyesight, saw the cat resembling Graycie out in a corner of the deck. Ms Kitty apparently felt that the "interloper" had crossed that line in the sand. As Ms Kitty goes, so do the rest of the cats. My youngest calmed and cuddled Ms Kitty, while I shooed the rest into different corners until they could sort their emotions out. Looked back on the balcony at that point and realized there were two cats. The second had very unique colouring - light and dark browns interspersed with red, cream, and gold fur. Quite beautiful to look at. That was another feline we had had to give up. My youngest returned and said he thought the dark grey cat was crying.

I know that most vets will say that cats can't feel such emotions, but we've seen them before in some of our other babies including Ms Kitty. I don't see why animals can't feel in the same way we do. When I worked in the hospital there was still a pediatrics ward. When some of those children would arrive for care in our rehabilitation ward there were still doctors who would declare that children under two couldn't feel pain - because their sensory systems weren't matured enough to feel like adults feel. There was one child under one doctor of such a belief's care, who had been scalded from the waist down. He refused to provide pain killers for that child even though most of the burns were of the third degree. That child was in so much pain that they ground their molars down so that the roots were exposed. The rule in the hospital at that time, was that no one was supposed to upset or challenge a doctor. Even so, enough of the staff were so incensed by this jerk's lack of empathy for the child's suffering that they all rebelled and complained. That doctor was sent back to his very highly regarded teaching hospital. I had heard from other doctors - at about the same time - that women don't feel any pain in labour either. Yes of course. That wasn't that long ago and I think there are a lot of other medical blindnesses that are rampant in human and animal patient care to this day and probably well beyond. My youngest's observation made me sad, but we can't take in all the lost pets either. Sending them to the animal shelter is almost a death sentence, so I don't know what to do. I'll think about that tomorrow said Ms Scarlett.

Yesterday was number four son's birthday - eleven days after his wife's. There must be something about the month, since May children always seem to be very attractive. Number four son shares his birthday with Pierce Brosnan and I have to say they look a lot alike with respect to the dark, thick hair and the fine-boned, expressive features. Their eyes are very intense too. Just handsome I guess. Anyway, I digress. My daughter-in-law wanted to take my son out for dinner, so I got to spend about four hours with my youngest grandson. His teeth were very painful today and he was really fussy. It was also very warm - for this part of the world, y'all - so he wanted to be held, but was too hot to feel comfortable cuddled up against me. At the same time he was tired, but he didn't want to go to bed. Just really owly. I finally managed to walk him to sleep after about an hour of steady crying - him not me. I put him in his bed about half an hour after that. Forty five minutes later the neighbours living upstairs - the landlords - started working on something. Banging and clanging away they were, right over my grandson's bedroom. Of course he woke up crying even more intensely. I did manage to get a bit of a bottle into him because he was so thirsty by that time, but he wouldn't eat or settle until Mom and Dad returned home, thankfully, about half an hour after he was wakened. He did stop fussing a bit when I sang to him. Later I put on the children's channel and that calmed him as well. He loves the music and dancing, as well as some of the animated characters. I searched for some of his Mom's favorite music on youtube - Paul Brandt and such - but there wasn't anything which he recognized as comfort music. Sigh. I felt really badly for the little guy, but I must say I was glad when he was safely in Mom's arms. He was quite happy to let grandma feed him then. When one is in pain all anyone really wants is the circumstances that most make one feel safe and protected. Right, dear diary. Time for bed now though. That's where I feel safe at the moment - as long as the nightmares remain at a minimum. No Stephen King for this girl.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats