Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:30 - 03.05.07
differentials
I dreamt there was a lion in my home. A real living, breathing, very angry lion at that. It ignored all the other people who were inside at the time and sought me out exclusively. The gender kept shifting - of the lion, not me - lion, lioness - , but those big talons and huge paws did not. It chased me into my kitchen where I fended it off with a broom. No jokes about brooms, eh? I managed to chase it into a bedroom which I thought was mine and slammed the door. With horror I realized there was a man in there working away on some carpentry project I think. I seemed to recognize him as the head of security for Elections Canada but can't say how since I've never laid eyes on the man. Just the "feeling", the aura, as it were. I grabbed that broom, re-opened the door and saw that lion going for the man's jugular - teeth and claws both. Scary. I whacked that beast with the broom and drew it's attention back to me. What was I thinking? It chased me into a corner where I had to draw my feet up in order to not be caught and dragged down into that lion's maw. That had my heart racing in real time. I started smacking it in the face and chest with the broom and kicking it with my feet. Obviously a lot braver asleep than awake, aren't I? Finally that lion got tired of trying to tear me away from my home and left through the back door. The rest of the people in the house peeked out of their hiding places and slowly emerged. The man caught in my bedroom had a few scratches for his trouble, but seemed fine otherwise although I'm certain his mental state was right roiled for a while. At that time it was as though I could hear my youngest son calling me from his work place and I woke up.

It was late when I wrote last night. I had wanted to finish the Wesak/buddhist meditation as the moon came to the full - at 4 in the am. The preparations had taken a long time, but a long soak in the tub was the reward. I used essential oils as I felt appropriate - orange, jasmine, lavendar and cedar in different amounts. Sitting in lotus position in water is much easier than in air. Ommmm. I had made an herbal potion for my lungs, using the buds off my poplar tree among other things - parsley, sage, rosemary and thyme - and hyssop. My asthma has been fairly intermittant, but seems to flare by it's own timetable. Exercised as well just to not break the good habits I'm trying to keep. It was fairly easy to enter the dream time, but that might have had something to do with the strength of the ganj issuing from the neighbour's house. I had inhaled some of it when I was out battling those rose bushes, you see. As usual the neighbours seem to line up along their window each time I go outside, so I got the concentrated results of their smoking habit. There had been a day last week when they obviously felt they were giving off too many "airs". The young boy had been dispatched to outside their vented and fanned bathroom window. He dumped a whole bottle of that really awful "Axe" smell right underneath the scene of their crime. That scent triggers really violent asthma attacks in me so I had to shut all my windows immediately until the wind blew it all away. I digress. The entire ritual took about three hours and I slept deeply after that.

This morning a call from the ombudsman's office about the complaint I had registered about the one door to door saleman's visit on Monday. He wanted more details and said he would be passing the information on to the natural gas company who had hired the young man. His comment was that no great harm had been done because I hadn't been induced into signing any contract. That wasn't the point - it was the lying and the pressure tactics that were my concern. He and my son both wondered why I had accosted that young guy the second time he came near the house - when he returned to talk with the neighbour. How could I open the door if I knew he was standing there, if I was truly so intimidated by him as I said. Well first I wnted to get his name so that it was clear who had been at my door. Secondly my son was in the house and I wanted to reclaim some sense of control or safety back from the blighter. Kind of like the little dog who rushes under the paws of the big dog and barks at the source of its fear, you know. And no jokes please.

A comment made by the interviewer really bothered me so it sent me on a hunt of the internet. I wanted more information on the nature of the company that hired the young man. You see one of my points to the interviewer had been that the offending company had used a corporate name so close to the original supplier as to be indistinguishable with it. That isn't allowed in the province. To incorporate under provincial or federal statutes an entity must do a title search of the business name they propose to use so that they can't infer that they are actually their competitor by using that name. The interviewer had changed the subject while I was still in mid-sentence and would not revisit the issue. Hmmmm. Turns out that the parent company - Centrica - who had sent the door to door saleman had bought out the company which I deal with as a natural gas supplier. They acquired my supplier when deregulation made it possible to enter the market to begin with. However, deregulation had been so unpopular with those of us who are resident in this province so the provincial government made a provision whereby we - the residents - could retain the agreements and services we already had in place and the cost/billing would not change. The parent company seems to have created this other shell company so it can market it's much more expensive combined with less service options to it's own newly acquired customers. That doesn't explain why the salesman didn't have my name though. Maybe he wanted to enter the house because my bills have been so low. The only thing I use my natural gas for is for heating water you see. With the convection heaters the balance of the major power expenses relies on my electricity consumption and believe me that bill has made up the difference. Maybe the salesman had been instructed to find out why and how I was keeping my bills from their company so low. Don't know but I still have the right not to be bullied or harassed on my own doorstep and I have the right to be given all the facts and nuances straight up. Not served up with a side helping of deceit, thank you very much.

Anyway time for bed again, good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats