Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

23:22 - 07.01.07
Review
I am truly sorry for the storms that keep pounding our left coast. Part of the remorse is personal in that the migraines I get when that happens make me feel as though the top of my head is going to blow off. Whine and cheese too.

That notwithstanding, my youngest and I managed to stop in at the Pho House for dinner last night. He had the usual but I opted for a bowl of won ton soup. It was huge and was just $5. I added one spoon of the Vietnamese hot sauce and it cleared out my sinuses and my headache for quite a long time after. Next up we headed for the grocery store. It was deserted as were the streets. Big hockey game in town you see. Calgarians love their hockey so much that basically everything comes to a halt when a game is being played in the city. Sports bars are loaded and so are the couches in most homes. Perfect time to do any errands you want since there is no waiting in line for anything. Met a really nice couple at the checkout stand. They just wanted a beautiful arrangement of yellow roses to tell a friend how much they cared about them. Their only purchase out on a hockey night in Canada.

Today I spent most of the time trying to see - that migraine with winds gusting up to 80 km per hour for most of the day. Travel advisories and road closures over most of the province since even semis were being blown off the road. My youngest and I managed to watch the video H2O with Paul Gross late this evening when things died down a bit. Interesting mirror in which Canadians need to look. Somewhat like the one the Saudi newspapers held up for us earlier this week. One online radio station had quizzes and surveys to occupy my time, but when they list several really great bands/performers how am I supposed to choose one that I would prefer to see perform live. Bring them all on. Truth is I can't afford concert tickets but I know there are enough people with the means to fill the concerts with no effort.

Of course the other thing I did was catch up on my e-newspapers. This idea about tutoring for children based on need instead of income deserves consideration if children are truly supposed to be afforded equal access to public education. Honouring those who care for children in a tangible fashion might help as well. The other area of leadership shown in the UK is in dealing with homelessness. Like the movie my son and I watched tonight honouring the right of all citizens to have their basic needs met should be the first order of government for our very wealthy country. That means free access to potable water too. In work news the issues of archiving electronic information and the cost to companies that don't was pretty graphic. These two stories about parental abductions on an international scale was confusing. Double standards applied to what appear to be similar cases. In our province one young man was fined and jailed for tossing a pie at our Premier. In British Columbia an alleged pie thrower was issued $10,000 in damages. Double standards too.

Time for bed now since I start playing with my grand-daughter again tomorrow. Good Night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats