Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

23:15 - 14.01.07
anarchy
Well I'm back dear diary. This past week has been so odd that I was afraid to open my mouth - or post to you. It has been like looking at a combination of Picasso's, Dali's and Escher's work and trying to interpret it in writing. All the pieces are there, but the angle of one's glance can change the entire story even when looking at the same scenario. Add into that and an applying conjunction - exact on Saturday - of Messrs Mars and Pluto in Sagittarius meant a lot of the community seemed to be either unable to control their anger or aggression or near collapse from same.

More and yet more calls from other Returning Officers and more communique's about the Elections Canada issue from interested parties. My Member of Parliament's assistant emailed to ask me for information because they hadn't heard about it - she said. Well if they aren't being kept informed, even though they are the ones who voted in the legislation, then who is in charge of the hen house - or the House of Commons. I referred them to the one law firm that has posted some information on their website. The problem is that even though I'm used to reading a lot of legal publications, neither the Act itself or the interpretation by the lawyers was comprehensible without having at least another dozen or so pieces of legislation open to fill in the blanks. I spent most of Saturday morning trying to read all of that and came away with a headache and tummy ache too. At that point confusion became chaos. The most consistent information seems to be coming out from the country's public station - CBC - the one that just aired the sitcom "Little Mosque on the Prairie", y'all. What is verfiable? Over 100 electoral districts were posted for applications for Returning Officers. None of the existing Returning Officers, as far as I know, were told anything different from me - that it was because of the passage of the Federal Accountability Act. There was no warning or explanation as to why some EDs were posted two days after the act was passed in parliament while others weren't. As it has been reported in the newspapers here the legislation has mostly not come into force and so the whole exercise, if that is true, would be illegal. I'm not a lawyer though, so all the information and research I've gathered might be interpreted differently in a court. One person speculated to me that if, as the media have reported, there were 118 appointments already made in December under the legislation's radar in high profile positions then it might be that the government had another 118 people lined up for our much humbler positions as Returning Officers. I can't say one way or another about that either. None of the information is lining up in any logical fashion so any guess would be speculative at best right now. I've been afraid to record the daily comments for fear of muddying the waters any further.

It was one of those weeks that was very cold for what seemed like forever. Post christmas blues made travelling transit most unpleasant since bus drivers and passengers alike were cranky and volatile. No point relating the woes but they did test one's New Year's resolutions to be kinder and less reactive. I did the best I could but I know I could have done better. My granddaughter's teething was the only thing that had her crabby and only for brief moments. Playing with her every day was the high light of the week. My son - her Dad - had to have a wisdom tooth pulled mid-week so he was in pain and struggling to cope for part of that time. It's hard as a parent to see your children struggle regardless of their age. My daughter-in-law was talking about all the conflict in her office too. I asked her if she thought the job was worth the stress. So far it is in her opinion. Maybe things will smooth out down the road. Her work mates sound as though they are pretty seriously polarized though - I suggested she keep out of as much of it as she possibly could - that sometimes being near impossible as some of the staff already seem to have that "if you're not with us, you're against us" attitude.

I have been trying, since that burst blood vessel at the end of November, to get in to see my doctor. I have left several voicemails and have talked with their receptionist too. No luck in booking an appointment yet meant I called my pharmacy on Friday, to see if there was any other way to get an extension or renewal on my prescription - the one that I do need. Go to one of the clinics - the doc in a box - maybe they can help. Tried calling a couple but no luck yet. Bleagh.

My youngest and my oldest son went out to play tonight. They left my two older grandchildren with me - that and about six loads of laundry. My grandchildren were delightful and laundry isn't tough s it was a pleasant evening. My youngest had planned the event without really consulting me first so he found himself shopping for groceries and helping with housework as a result. Two Sagittarius males, my sons - great with the big picture and very thoughtful, kind-hearted beings, but those details are weak. Guess I can live with that since they make me so proud in other ways.

Anyway time for bed and hopefully some clarity in the next week. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats