Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:26 - 15.12.06
valuable
Last night I worked away at the leftover Elections Canada work from both the event and the assignments. Responses came in today. Some positive and some, not so much bad, as just not moving anything ahead. Can't push the river. Another memo from head office just stating that advertisements inviting applications for all 308 positions for Returning Officers will be posted in newspapers shortly. That is a change in direction from August, when we were told that as soon as the legislation passed our second in command would be taking over from us. I suspect some of the truly connected Returning Officers - the ones who actually might be political appointments, unlike me, since I had submitted my resume in competition for the position when I first received my appointment in 1996 and was reappointed in 2003 based on that work since - likely had their lawyers discuss contract law with headquarters. In the interim more threats to topple the current government as early as next month from the opposition parties. The Prime Minister letting all his caucus know that they are to be within a plane ride of our capital city directly the first week of January. I am doing the best I can to deal with what I can influence, but I must admit it's difficult when there still is no response from the people I need to talk with in Ottawa. Maybe they are all on holidays. Whatever.

Today playing with my grand-daughter was pleasant. Around noon there was something strange going on with one of the satellite broadcasts. Our national ballet theater offers one children's program that is really great. I'm hoping to get my granddaughter hooked on classical ballet, so that someday I'll have someone who enjoys the idea of attending a live performance with me. Suddenly the screen changed colours, lost the picture, scrolled backward and forward through the storyline frame by frame, and generally jitterbugged for about 5 minutes. Anyway, there had been a major eruption of coronal mass from the sun. It was so strong that a warning and directions to take cover went out to the astronauts in space right now. The warning also stated that interference with communications devices globally would likely occur, along with very prominent occurrences of the Northern Lights today. I think the weird stuff on that one channel was a confirmation that the storm had reached the earth. It seems to be influencing weather patterns as well. Still there are scientists and others who insist that remote bodies in the solar system can't have direct influence on conditions on earth though.

My son is taking tomorrow off to take my grand-daughter to the doctor for her nine month checkup, so I won't see her for the next three days. Amazing how quickly one gets attached to a child isn't it. Playing with her rebalances both my thinking and my values. Too bad I couldn't just look after her and have done with other forms of work. Too bad our society doesn't value children except as a source of revenue for various business/government ventures or those who look after children, yet at the same time complain about the "breakdown of the family/society". Look in the mirror, y'all.

Anyway I'm tired and I have more work to try and finish. Good night and sweet dreams dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats