Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

03:07 - 12.11.06
Thoughts
Sorry dear diary, I was looking for my health care card and lost track of the time. One can't get assistance with health issues unless one has their card with them you see. Last time I recall seeing mine was the evening when I went to the hospital with number three son when he smashed his hand in the garage door. I haven't needed it since then. An infected finger was the reason for the search today. It isn't healing as quickly as I think it should although I am using a topical antibiotic. I thought I'd drop in to the clinic if it isn't better in another day but they make you pay upfront for service without your card in hand. Finally found what I needed in a place least expected. Odd.

Today was just laundry, litter boxes and dishes - cleaning, y'all. I need to review some of the email articles I set aside from last week when I was too tired to read when I got home from looking after my granddaughter. The ones that require serious thought or study. One that caught my eye was this one about the conjunction of four planets - Jupiter, Venus, Mars and Mercury - near the sun. The SOHO spacecraft's photos are available for your viewing pleasure. Another NASA article talks about geophysical activity on the moon. It's not supposed to be there but there are the photos proving otherwise. Radio waves and bursts of energy from other systems also are causing some rethinking of current planetary theory. A five thousand mile wide hurricane on Saturn made me glad our weather isn't quite so violent. Strange days indeed.

This BBC article on the blackmarket of nuclear weapons was a bit disturbing. Ditto for this assessment of the vulnerability of electronic voting machines written even before the US midterm elections last week. And then there are the mail-in ballots. To round out the worry are the stories of lottery terminals being manipulated so that winning players are defrauded of their prizes. That actually happened to me a month or two ago when I won both $10 and a free play on one of my tickets. The clerk tried to withhold the one prize until I told him that I had checked the lotto website before visiting the store.

On the other hand this article about the cost effectiveness of geothermal heating was encouraging. I wonder if our city has any building codes in place for such endeavours. This tour of the Arctic seemed to emphasize the need to get on with alternate sources of energy and clean water you see. A story about Viggo Mortensen in the New York Times was interesting in that he is using his current popularity to feed his dreams as an indie publisher and a photographer/poet, instead of being consumed by it as so many actors seem to be. Even though our national news source has had its funding severely cut it still won several Geminis - the Canadian equivalent of an Emmy, I think - for its productions including one series about a company of Shakespearean actors. Who'd a thunk. For bloggers in repressive regimes Amnesty International is allowing their voices to be heard throuugh this service. Take that Google and Yahoo. A new age of confrontation last week between druids and the church in Glastonbury was rather disturbing. Witch hunts are alive and well literally. This photo essay on China was very calming - another of several countries on my list to visit.

Only in my dreams right now the travelling but I did wash one of the suit bags I usually use when flying. Maybe the subconscious knows something I don't. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats