Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:39 - 08.10.06
agriculture
I spent a fair amount of time working on my yard today. It was a beautiful autumn afternoon. My rowan tree desperately needed trimming. It is so loaded with berries that the branches are bent to the ground. Birds from all over fly in to eat their fill. Our cats think that the window in my bedroom provides a better show than anything on tv as a result. Their only complaint is that I never open the door between them and those birds. No doubt.

My oldest arrived around the supper hour with his two children. His seasonal job ended last week so he is down to one full time job now. Not enough to pay their bills, so he wanted to use my computer to do some job searches. Another source of income for him, as for me, is necessary and a second job is the only recourse either of us has. He noticed something that I had too. A lot of the placement/recruiting agencies are posting identical job ads. Sometimes they are even posted twice in different categories on the same website. One job I considered was posted in three places at the time. When I went back to look at it a couple of weeks later it was still posted but on two completely new agency sites. I think the employers must be trolling to see where they can get the most qualified labour for the least amount of wages.

While he was scrolling through all the postings my grandbabies and I headed out to the front yard. Remember those leaf bags stencilled with Hallowe'en themes I'd mentioned picking up at the drug store. I asked my grandchildren if they'd like to help me decorate my yard by filling the bags up with all the leaves from my sundance tree. Yes with great enthusiasm. We worked until sundown. At that point the rake actually broke. I've had it since we moved into the house so it wasn't a surprise. Just inconvenient. Still about two thirds of the leaves have disappeared into those bags that are now strategically placed arund the perimeter of the yard. Peeking out of the hedges are skulls and jack o'lanterns. Ordered pizza for the hungry workers who then hunkered down to watch the new movie their uncle had bought and to paint pictures for my walls.

I checked with JK Rowling's site and sure enough my test on the magical world had been marked. Exceeds Expectations, whoa! The list of questions has been posted in two places and some of the fan club web masters have debated what the correct answers should be. However, like the last exam, the answers have never been posted so I don't know which I got right and which were wrong. My only consolation is that the experts from the fan sites had just as much trouble trying to figure out the correct response as I did. Oh well. Time for bed - maybe the answers will come on the wings of my dreams. Never know. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats